Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Only Chess Forum

Only Chess Forum

  1. 05 Apr '12 22:07 / 4 edits
  2. 06 Apr '12 00:44
    Originally posted by tomtom232
    [pgn][Event "ChessCube Game"]
    [Site "www.chesscube.com"]
    [Date "2012.04.05"]
    [Round "-"]
    [White "sawyert@chesscube.com"]
    [Black "a_cherif@chesscube.com"]
    [Result "1-0"]
    [WhiteElo "1805"]
    [BlackElo "1917"]
    [ECO "B50"]
    [Time "14:54:58"]
    [TimeControl "300"]

    1. e4 c5 2. Nf3 d6 3. d4 cxd4 4. Nxd4 Nf6 5. Nc3 g6 6. Be3 Bg7 7. f3 O-O 8. Qd2 R ...[text shortened]... le. In the end neither dark square bishop is on the board.} 1-0[/pgn]
    I think black might have a winning position after 16...Nh5.
  3. 06 Apr '12 02:58
    That was a beautiful series of sacs! I really enjoyed that. Well Done !!!
  4. 06 Apr '12 10:09
    This is so great that I thought it couldn't be true. But I can't refute it. Black can defend against the mate though I think if he gives some material back. What I'm posting is a series of seemingly forced moves (at least Black's moves are), and I'm not sure what happens after that.

  5. 06 Apr '12 11:19 / 1 edit
    Originally posted by WanderingKing
    This is so great that I thought it couldn't be true. But I can't refute it. Black can defend against the mate though I think if he gives some material back. What I'm posting is a series of seemingly forced moves (at least Black's moves are), and I'm not sure what happens after that.

    [pgn] 1. e4 c5 2. Nf3 d6 3. d4 cxd4 4. Nxd4 Nf6 5. Nc3 g6 6. Be3 B hat happens next? Can White make use of his passed pawn to actually win the game?}[/pgn]
    In the final position White has 2 extra pawns. Should be enough for win.
  6. 06 Apr '12 11:59
    Originally posted by Pacifique
    In the final position White has 2 extra pawns. Should be enough for win.
    Could you elaborate? Black still has his rook, and I wouldn't know how to win this if I was white. I'm trying to improve my endgame knowledge so any tips would be appreciated. (Not sure if this is endgame already, but it's close.)
  7. 06 Apr '12 12:28 / 1 edit
    This is a kind of a position, that makes me stop by the table... 🙂
    In my humble (and quick) opinion if Black play K ... h8 White can get away with perpetual by Qg5.
    If Black play 1... Kh6, White must stick with perpetual because
    Rg1 Rg8,
    Qf4+ Kh7,
    Qf5+ Kh8,
    does not give a check-mate.

    But if someone finds a forced win for White here, I would really be embarrassed 😳
  8. 06 Apr '12 12:34 / 1 edit
    Originally posted by WanderingKing
    Could you elaborate? Black still has his rook, and I wouldn't know how to win this if I was white. I'm trying to improve my endgame knowledge so any tips would be appreciated. (Not sure if this is endgame already, but it's close.)
    My fault - took a quick glance at the position and having some beers inside of me, did not notice that White lacks Rook. 😳
  9. 06 Apr '12 13:03
    wow!
  10. 06 Apr '12 20:22
    Originally posted by KnightStalker47
    I think black might have a winning position after 16...Nh5.
    I had planned against that with 17.gxh5 Rxf8 18.fxg6 fxg6 19.Rxh8+ Kxh8 20. Qh6+ Kg8 21.Qxg6+ and 22.Rh1+
  11. 06 Apr '12 20:35 / 3 edits
    Originally posted by WanderingKing
    This is so great that I thought it couldn't be true. But I can't refute it. Black can defend against the mate though I think if he gives some material back. What I'm posting is a series of seemingly forced moves (at least Black's moves are), and I'm not sure what happens after that.

    [pgn] 1. e4 c5 2. Nf3 d6 3. d4 cxd4 4. Nxd4 Nf6 5. Nc3 g6 6. Be3 B hat happens next? Can White make use of his passed pawn to actually win the game?}[/pgn]
  12. 07 Apr '12 11:19
    Originally posted by tomtom232
    I had planned against that with 17.gxh5 Rxf8 18.fxg6 fxg6 19.Rxh8+ Kxh8 20. Qh6+ Kg8 21.Qxg6+ and 22.Rh1+
    21.Qxg6+ Nxg6
  13. 07 Apr '12 21:42
    Originally posted by KnightStalker47
    21.Qxg6+ Nxg6
    ah yes. 21.f4 then and the attack is still on. I probably would have noticed this if the position arose but I missed it in my calculations.