Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Only Chess Forum

Only Chess Forum

  1. 18 May '09 04:31
    when is it ok to offer a draw.(im new at this)
  2. 18 May '09 04:37
    Originally posted by kaminsky
    when is it ok to offer a draw.(im new at this)
    The general rule of etiquette (I think) is like this:

    It's always okay to offer draw when you think (in some probability) the draw will be accepted.
    It's not okay when your opponent has no reason to accept it.
  3. 18 May '09 04:39
    thx, that sounds like a minefield
  4. 18 May '09 05:13
    Originally posted by kaminsky
    thx, that sounds like a minefield
    Actually it isn't.

    If you cross the etiquette once, he just rejects it. Twice, then he might get annoyed, but nothing more. Thrice he perhaps will comment on it. But as you are new at it you will be forgiven. This is not a minefield.

    So if you feel that it's worth asking, then just do. Just don't repeat it to many times to the same opponent.
  5. 18 May '09 05:15
    thx
  6. Subscriber Ponderable
    chemist
    18 May '09 17:01
    In fact I repeated a draw offer once 39 moves in a row with just two Kings on the board
  7. 18 May '09 17:06
    Originally posted by Ponderable
    In fact I repeated a draw offer once 39 moves in a row with just two Kings on the board
    LOL!
    In such a case you just claim it due to insufficient mating material rather than offer one.
  8. 18 May '09 17:33
    Originally posted by Ponderable
    In fact I repeated a draw offer once 39 moves in a row with just two Kings on the board
    Who laughed most? You or him?
  9. 18 May '09 19:09
    Originally posted by Ponderable
    In fact I repeated a draw offer once 39 moves in a row with just two Kings on the board
    Does not RHP automatically make this a draw?
  10. 18 May '09 19:18
    Originally posted by znsho
    Does not RHP automatically make this a draw?
    No, it has to be claimed. But when you do, and the system agrees with you, your get your draw automatically. but you have to initiate it yourself with a proper claim.
  11. 18 May '09 20:25
    Originally posted by FabianFnas
    No, it has to be claimed. But when you do, and the system agrees with you, your get your draw automatically. but you have to initiate it yourself with a proper claim.
    What I mean is, stalemate comes up as draw. The three-move rule has to be claimed. But, just two Ks is simply a draw - no other way.

    Perhaps RHP should be modified to allow this to be a draw automatically.
  12. Standard member Redmike
    Godless Commie
    18 May '09 23:30
    Originally posted by znsho
    What I mean is, stalemate comes up as draw. The three-move rule has to be claimed. But, just two Ks is simply a draw - no other way.

    Perhaps RHP should be modified to allow this to be a draw automatically.
    Dunno.

    I saw 2 kids play on K vs K, in a tournament.

    The arbiter let them play on, as a learning thing if nothing else.

    Bizarrely, one of them resigned.
  13. Standard member rking00
    Suicide Bishop
    18 May '09 23:35
    Originally posted by znsho
    What I mean is, stalemate comes up as draw. The three-move rule has to be claimed. But, just two Ks is simply a draw - no other way.

    Perhaps RHP should be modified to allow this to be a draw automatically.
    I thought it was a "three position rule", i.e. the exact same position occurs three times in a game, a draw may be claimed. Don't mind me, I'm just passing through, I never play for a draw anyways; couldn't care less about my rating.
  14. 18 May '09 23:45
    Originally posted by rking00
    I thought it was a "three position rule", i.e. the exact same position occurs three times in a game, a draw may be claimed. Don't mind me, I'm just passing through, I never play for a draw anyways; couldn't care less about my rating.
    Correct.
    He mixed threefold repetition with 50 move rule making it a 3 move rule.
    No problem,both have to be claimed.
    Could've been worse,it could've come out as a fiftyfold repetition.Imagine having to count that during a game
  15. 18 May '09 23:51
    Originally posted by Romanticus
    Correct.
    He mixed threefold repetition with 50 move rule making it a 3 move rule.
    No problem,both have to be claimed.
    Could've been worse,it could've come out as a fiftyfold repetition.Imagine having to count that during a game
    You wouldn't have to count it. Long before that happened you would have 50 moves without a pawn move or a capture.