Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Only Chess Forum

Only Chess Forum

  1. 20 Jul '17 22:03
    Just how many repeat moves have to be made before a called draw?
  2. Standard member byedidia
    Mister Why
    21 Jul '17 02:12
    You have to reach the same position with the same side to move three times.
  3. Subscriber Ponderable
    chemist
    21 Jul '17 11:28
    Originally posted by @ian47
    Just how many repeat moves have to be made before a called draw?
    And you have to Claim the drwa, no automatic drawing.
  4. 21 Jul '17 12:05
    The moves do not have to be consecutive.

    If this position was reach with White to play on move 40, 45 and 55.



    White could, before making his 55th move, claim a draw stating the position
    was about to be created for the 3rd time.

    Officially there is no such thing as a perpetual check (though everyone uses the term)
    A perpetual check will produce a three fold repetition of a position when a draw can be claimed.

    A player may claim a draw if after 50 moves no pawn move or a capture has been
    made during that time. What may not be too well known is if no capture or a pawn
    move has been made after 75 moves An arbiter can stop the game and declare it drawn.

    This is stop two happy chaps playing on and on and on with neither side
    claiming a draw under the 50 move rule.
  5. Subscriber BigDoggProblem
    The Advanced Mind
    21 Jul '17 17:09
    Originally posted by @byedidia
    You have to reach the same position with the same side to move three times.
    And with the same en passant rights [usually meaning there aren't any] and castling rights in all 3.
  6. 22 Jul '17 10:28
    Originally posted by @bigdoggproblem
    And with the same en passant rights [usually meaning there aren't any]
    Necessarily meaning there aren't any -- en passant rights are lost after the first move.

    Also note that it doesn't have to be the same move which created that same position. In Greenpawn's example, it could've been reached by moving the rook twice, and the king the third time. Or the moves to reach that position could've been the rook all three times, but from three different directions. All valid: it's the three times repeated position which is important, not the moves.
  7. Subscriber ogb
    22 Jul '17 18:47
    Arbiters can be wrong.. even with lack of sufficient material rules.!
  8. Donation ketchuplover
    G.O.A.T.
    22 Jul '17 19:27
    Is insufficient mating material an automatic draw?
  9. 22 Jul '17 19:35
    Originally posted by @ketchuplover
    Is insufficient mating material an automatic draw?
    If you can't mate at all, yes. If you can't force mate but can still help-mate, no.