1. ...who does not know
    Moves
    05 Aug '09 00:30
    I was reviewing this game. I wondered if 4. ...Nxe4 should have been my move? Seems like I struggled from there on? I am black.
    Thanks,
    Eric

Game 6561413
  2. Joined
    29 Jun '06
    Moves
    05 Aug '09 15:42
    Originally posted by Eric LeFavour
    I was reviewing this game. I wondered if 4. ...Nxe4 should have been my move? Seems like I struggled from there on? I am black.
    Thanks,
    Eric

Game 6561413
    In Caro-Cann you play dxe4. I'm not an expert, so I wouldn't know for sure myself. However, on this issue I can refer to a lecture by Jesse Kraai on chesslecture.com
  3. Joined
    05 Jul '09
    Moves
    05 Aug '09 15:59
    Originally posted by Eric LeFavour
    Thanks,
    Eric

Game 6561413
    Yes,you should've captured.Capturing with the pawn,4....,dxe4,kicks the knight so that may be best.

Probably you can't keep the pawn but White may have to allow a weakening somewhere in order to get it back.
  4. Earth
    Moves
    05 Aug '09 17:151 edit
    Originally posted by Winston Smith
    Yes,you should've captured.Capturing with the pawn,4....,dxe4,kicks the knight so that may be best.

Probably you can't keep the pawn but White may have to allow a weakening somewhere in order to get it back.
    Agreed. In the opening, blacks aim should be to equalise development.
    h3 is a poor and passive move for white on move 4. Don't move pawns unless you have to - they can't go back again, and in this case weaken the Kings future refuge. White shouldn't be worrying about black moves - he should be forcing the issue himself!
    With dxe4 you remove a key central pawn of whites (challenging this pawn is a key objective in blacks opening) and you force him to move a piece for a second time - away from its ideal square.