Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Only Chess Forum

Only Chess Forum

1. Subscriber Pariah325
    Knife Wielder
    05 Feb '09 01:29
    I just read a thread on here a few minutes ago, and someone mentioned amounts of time that should be spent studying this or that, and it brought a deeper question to mind.
    I'm pretty new to chess (I started in the fall) and I feel like I'm learning quickly, but not consistently. I'm usually around 1300 on here, but can't get over and stay over 1350. Right now I'm down a bit... Anyway, I read books and I study games and I do tactics and I play here on RHP and sometimes I play live games online (not blitz, because I don't like playing that quickly, I lose what is going on too easily...maybe once I improve some more.) Where should most of my time be spent in my learning? So far, the books have been the most helpful, along with the playing, I think, but I see the importance to the others. And when one analyses games, what should I be doing? I realize there are lots of ways to go through games, but I'm not always sure what I am looking for.

Most people would say I need goals, and I have some short term goals. (ie. get my hightest ever over 1500, play consistently at 1400s, improve my endgame because I'm sick of losing games that I feel I should have won coming into the end, get a deeper grasp on openings, play more consistently without blunders, screwups or losing to players I should beat.)

Any advice is appreciated.
    P
  2. 05 Feb '09 05:21