1. Joined
    03 Oct '10
    Moves
    03 Oct '10 17:43
    I would like to buy a chess book, just don't know which one. So, please recommend me one. I was thinking Modern Chess Strategy, but it's maybe outdated (is it)? Another one that might be good is unbeatable chess lessons.

I am an advanced beginner player, if that's necessary.
  2. Standard memberwormwood
    If Theres Hell Below
    We're All Gonna Go!
    Moves
    03 Oct '10 17:52
    chernev: logical chess move by move.

one of the very few chess books that'll actual be good for you, instead of procrastination.
  3. Joined
    03 Oct '10
    Moves
    03 Oct '10 18:06
    May I ask why do you think that one is better than Unbeatable chess lessons? To me it seems like total-beginners book, using tones of words to explain why d4 or e4 is played, and he repeats explaining that for each game (at least that's what I read on amazon)
  4. Standard memberwormwood
    If Theres Hell Below
    We're All Gonna Go!
    Moves
    03 Oct '10 18:25
    Originally posted by YCP
    May I ask why do you think that one is better than Unbeatable chess lessons? To me it seems like total-beginners book, using tones of words to explain why d4 or e4 is played, and he repeats explaining that for each game (at least that's what I read on amazon)
    yep, that's it. he explains every single move in clear direct way, even the first one. then repeats that for 30 or so instructive games, until the points really sink in. the idea is to show the beginner how simple and principled good chess is, a peek inside to see how a grandmaster thinks about every move.

it's a book every chess player should read.
  5. Standard memberChessPraxis
    Cowboy From Hell
    American West
    Moves
    03 Oct '10 18:25
    Correct Spelling and Grammar in Thread Titles-I.C. Moran
  6. Joined
    19 Jun '06
    Moves
    03 Oct '10 18:312 edits
    A few random thoughts: