Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Only Chess Forum

Only Chess Forum

  1. 12 Apr '09 17:16
    Simple, slightly newb-ish question:

    While there's obviously a method on RHP for promoting a pawn to a queen when you've already got one on the board, is this practice generally accepted in the larger chess world? While I've taken advantage of the ability on here in a few games, I've always felt a little guilty about it - like I'm bending the rules somehow.

    Maybe I'm just a Puritan at heart, and the thought of a king with two honeys bothers me.
  2. 12 Apr '09 17:19
    Over-the-board, when in need, you just grab your neighbour's Queen.
  3. 12 Apr '09 18:01
    Originally posted by hphovercraft
    Simple, slightly newb-ish question:

    While there's obviously a method on RHP for promoting a pawn to a queen when you've already got one on the board, is this practice generally accepted in the larger chess world? While I've taken advantage of the ability on here in a few games, I've always felt a little guilty about it - like I'm bending the rules so ...[text shortened]...
    Maybe I'm just a Puritan at heart, and the thought of a king with two honeys bothers me.
    Nothing wrong with it.If it bothers you then call the 2nd one princess
  4. Standard member JonathanB of London
    Curb Your Enthusiasm
    12 Apr '09 18:13
    Originally posted by hphovercraft
    Simple, slightly newb-ish question:

    While there's obviously a method on RHP for promoting a pawn to a queen when you've already got one on the board, is this practice generally accepted in the larger chess world? While I've taken advantage of the ability on here in a few games, I've always felt a little guilty about it - like I'm bending the rules so ...[text shortened]...
    Maybe I'm just a Puritan at heart, and the thought of a king with two honeys bothers me.
    Fischer-Petrosian, 1959.

    A famous example of White AND Black having two queens.


    http://www.chessgames.com/perl/chessgame?gid=1106430


    It's certainly ok to promote to a queen if you've already got one.
  5. 12 Apr '09 18:25
    Originally posted by hphovercraft
    Simple, slightly newb-ish question:

    While there's obviously a method on RHP for promoting a pawn to a queen when you've already got one on the board, is this practice generally accepted in the larger chess world? While I've taken advantage of the ability on here in a few games, I've always felt a little guilty about it - like I'm bending the rules so ...[text shortened]...
    Maybe I'm just a Puritan at heart, and the thought of a king with two honeys bothers me.
    Polygyny is perfectably acceptable in chess both here and elsewhere, including OTB. It might piss off your first queen though, so make sure she doesn't do anything stupid. Sometimes the two queens conspire against their king and turn a won game into a stalemate.
  6. Standard member RECUVIC
    international loser
    12 Apr '09 18:38
    Kings past and present[princes included!]have/had a regular habit of maintaining a Queen and a mistress or mistresses at the same time,even going as far as marrying a mistress while still married to the official queen! If A King can have two or more women in his collection of females,then why can we not have the same on a chessboard? Or is that the priviledge of Kings and princes only??Is it a little King-ky??
  7. 12 Apr '09 21:17
    Is she even called Queen in the majority of languages (or the founding language)?
  8. Standard member RECUVIC
    international loser
    12 Apr '09 21:59
    A Lady? Ma'am? Your Majesty? witch ? bitch? or concubine? I guess any of these would be acceptable??
  9. 13 Apr '09 05:41
    This topic is heading in a rather pervy direction. I must say I approve.
  10. Subscriber AThousandYoung
    Gonzalo de Córdoba
    13 Apr '09 07:56
    Do NOT put the Bishop in there!

    That place is for gerbils.
  11. Standard member RECUVIC
    international loser
    13 Apr '09 14:05
    My own chessboard Queen has just been crowned Queen Perverina the 1st,making here position as leading lady quite clear. As Queen she is required to stay close to the King and ignore any advances by the bishops and Knights. The alternative is to have her head lopped off,very undesirable for any chess Queen?------
  12. 13 Apr '09 16:52
    Originally posted by AThousandYoung
    Do NOT put the Bishop in there!

    That place is for gerbils.
    Awww yeah - I'd fill that fianchetto...
  13. 13 Apr '09 16:59
    Originally posted by tamuzi
    Is she even called Queen in the majority of languages (or the founding language)?
    That's a good question. In Dutch the Queen is usually called Dame (Lady), but also sometimes Koningin (Queen).
  14. Standard member orion25
    Art is hard
    13 Apr '09 17:18
    Originally posted by tamuzi
    Is she even called Queen in the majority of languages (or the founding language)?
    in all european countries it translates to queen I think, at least in western europe
  15. 13 Apr '09 18:29
    Originally posted by KazetNagorra
    That's a good question. In Dutch the Queen is usually called Dame (Lady), but also sometimes Koningin (Queen).
    It's Dame in German, too, and dronning (queen) in Norwegian. However, originally it was a vizier, and this term is still used in several non-European languages.

    Here's a site about chess terms in different languages: http://www.geocities.com/timessquare/metro/9154/nap-pieces.htm