Originally posted by MarinkatombYou're right. The en passant rule only applies with the black pawn on h4.
If black has a pawn on say, h3, white can play g2-g4 without fearing en passant, right? I'm pretty sure the pawn would have to be on h4 for this rule to apply but i haven't actually had this position before...
Originally posted by MarinkatombAn easy way to think about it is this. When done right the 2 pawns were never in a position to attack each other. When that pawn was on the 3rd rank the white pawn could have taken it there, but decided to push past it.
You don't miss a thing do you Xanth