1. Joined
    04 Feb '08
    Moves
    04 Sep '09 17:133 edits
    It will soon be my birthday so I'm starting to get asked what I want and I aready have enough chess boards to cover all the floors in my home!

I currently have in my collection:

Software;

Chessmaster 10,
    Ct art 3.0

Books;
    Art of checkmate, Renaud and Kahn
    The amateurs mind, Silman
    The Art of the middle game, Keres
    Winning chess tactics, seirawan
    Logical chess move by move, Chernev
    Streetfighting chess, Burnett
    1001 winning chess Sacrifices and combinations+1001 brilliant ways to checkmate, Reinfeld
    and MCO

I still have plenty of work to do on all the above (just look at my games and you will see ALOT of work needed!) I have been playing now for about 18 months. Im also about to join a chess club and start on my masters so my game load will be shrinking and I want to put more and get more out of each game I play. So any advice on what to invest in next? What would be of the most benfit?

And just to finish off here one of my better games for your entertainment: (I'm Black)

Thanks

D.
  2. Account suspended
    Moves
    04 Sep '09 17:202 edits
    Originally posted by Dem Ravenburg
    It will soon be my birthday so I'm starting to get asked what I want and I aready have enough chess boards to cover all the floors in my home!

Software;

Chessmaster 10,
    Ct art 3.0

Books;
    Winning chess tacti 28. Qb2d2 a4 29. Qd2e2 Bf5d7 30. Qe2e7 a3 1-0[/pgn]

Thanks

D.
    I think what you mostly need is tactics. Then you can move on to tactics. When you're done with that, some tactics would be good. 🙂 Seriously, you can't have enough of tactics, and at that stage, it will make a rapid improvement in your rating.

1 hour of chesstempo everyday and you could hope to be 1500~1600 in 6 months.