1. Joined
    20 Feb '07
    Moves
    17 Jan '08 16:59
    I have been slowly starting to play and enjoy this game more and want to get better. I know an opening or two and a defense or two but nothing beyond a few moves. I have limited knowledge of strategy and tactics. My rating improvement is based on playing mostly against those with lower ratings. Am I at a level where my play can benefit from beginning to study openings and some of the things better players do to improve their games? Or do I need to work on more basic things first?
  2. Sigulda, Latvia
    Moves
    17 Jan '08 17:36
    I'd say do tactics, tactics, tactics. It's good to understand a few basic opening principles, but not worth the effort to study openings if you're below 1500. This seems as a good site after a little glance - http://www.logicalchess.com/resources/lessons/tactics/. If you're feeling good, then this site allows you to solve timed problems - http://chess.emrald.net/ - pretty much like game situations. Or get a book on tactics. About openings and endings start worrying when you reach at least 1500-1600.

I hope that helps.
  3. Joined
    08 Nov '07
    Moves
    17 Jan '08 18:551 edit
    Don't neglect tactics. But if you focus on them exclusively then don't expect any miracles either. You may become a fine tactician but without a knowledge of the other elements you'll have a hard time ever creating the kinds of positions they arise in (as they don't simply appear magically out of thin air); this is especially true if your knowledge of the opening is so poor that you have to expend your energy trying to hold together a terrible position.