Posers and Puzzles

Posers and Puzzles

  1. Standard memberSwissGambit
    Caninus Interruptus
    2014.05.01
    Joined
    11 Apr '07
    Moves
    92274
    28 Jan '09 23:52

    Add pieces for a mate in 2 [white mates black]
  2. Joined
    25 Apr '06
    Moves
    5939
    29 Jan '09 19:21
    Originally posted by SwissGambit
    [fen]8/p1pp1pp1/1p2p3/2P5/P3P3/P1P3P1/1K1kPP2/r1rqR3 w[/fen]
    Add pieces for a mate in 2 [white mates black]
    May we add Black pieces too?
  3. Standard memberSwissGambit
    Caninus Interruptus
    2014.05.01
    Joined
    11 Apr '07
    Moves
    92274
    30 Jan '09 06:42
    Originally posted by heinzkat
    May we add Black pieces too?
    Sure - go ahead. 😀
  4. Joined
    25 Apr '06
    Moves
    5939
    30 Jan '09 10:33
    Originally posted by SwissGambit
    Sure - go ahead. 😀
    Yes, I noticed how stupid the question is after posting. 🙂
  5. Joined
    02 Mar '06
    Moves
    17881
    31 Jan '09 07:16
    Originally posted by heinzkat
    Yes, I noticed how stupid the question is after posting. 🙂
    i'm still trying to learn how these puzzles work... kinda like a retro problem (i'm also new to those)? i.e. since there are 5 minimum pawn captures made by white, and 5 missing pieces for black, there are no missing black pieces? is that why the question was no good?
  6. Joined
    25 Apr '06
    Moves
    5939
    31 Jan '09 12:161 edit
    Yes. Black has no last move again - it cannot have been b7-b6 or e7-e6 because Black's Bishops are already missing, and they have been captured by the white pawns to double them.

    I think Black's last move was -1...c2-c1=R which makes the bRc1 the bPh7, capturing five units on its way on the white squares, RBNNQ. The DSB can't have been captured on this road. White is allowed to add one piece, the DSB.

    +wBb4:



    1. c4+ Rc3 2. Bxc3#.
  7. Donationmurrow
    penguinpuffin
    finsbury
    Joined
    25 Aug '04
    Moves
    48501
    31 Jan '09 19:041 edit
    Originally posted by SwissGambit
    [fen]8/p1pp1pp1/1p2p3/2P5/P3P3/P1P3P1/1K1kPP2/r1rqR3 w[/fen]
    Add pieces for a mate in 2 [white mates black]
    I can do better than that - bung a white queen on d3 and GI-GOH! mate in 0.

    qed
  8. Joined
    25 Apr '06
    Moves
    5939
    31 Jan '09 22:391 edit
    Originally posted by murrow
    I can do better than that - bung a white queen on d3 and GI-GOH! mate in 0.

    qed
    0. ... Kxe1 🙁
  9. Standard memberSwissGambit
    Caninus Interruptus
    2014.05.01
    Joined
    11 Apr '07
    Moves
    92274
    01 Feb '09 00:261 edit
    Originally posted by heinzkat
    0. ... Kxe1 🙁
    No need to even do that - just grab the arbiter and demand that the opponent start playing by the rules. 😀
  10. Standard memberSwissGambit
    Caninus Interruptus
    2014.05.01
    Joined
    11 Apr '07
    Moves
    92274
    01 Feb '09 00:29
    Originally posted by Aetherael
    i'm still trying to learn how these puzzles work... kinda like a retro problem (i'm also new to those)? i.e. since there are 5 minimum pawn captures made by white, and 5 missing pieces for black, there are no missing black pieces? is that why the question was no good?
    Yes, this is indeed a retro problem, and you are on the right track: All of black's missing pieces were captured by white pawns, so none can be legally placed on the board.
  11. Standard memberSwissGambit
    Caninus Interruptus
    2014.05.01
    Joined
    11 Apr '07
    Moves
    92274
    01 Feb '09 00:30
    Originally posted by heinzkat
    Yes. Black has no last move again - it cannot have been b7-b6 or e7-e6 because Black's Bishops are already missing, and they have been captured by the white pawns to double them.

    I think Black's last move was -1...c2-c1=R which makes the bRc1 the bPh7, capturing five units on its way on the white squares, RBNNQ. The DSB can't have been captured on this ...[text shortened]...

    [fen]8/p1pp1pp1/1p2p3/2P5/PB2P3/P1P3P1/1K1kPP2/r1rqR3 w - -[/fen]

    1. c4+ Rc3 2. Bxc3#.
    SOLV'D
Back to Top