1. all at sea
    Moves
    17 Sep '05 18:55
    Now I realise this is not either a poser or a puzzle, well it is to me, but I am trying to do something in excel and I was rather hoping that one of you might know how to do it. So here is the problem:

I have a line running at 76 degrees If you take a single point on either side I want to know on which side it is - I have to use excel for this.

Let us assume (as it is in my spreadsheet) P3 is the cell with angle to the single point on either side of the line. So far I have come up with:

IF((PI()+RADIANS(76))>(P3)>RADIANS(76),1,-1)

The problem I have is I have to go through either 360 in degrees or 2pi in radians to make this formula stand up.

a) does anybody understand my problem?!😀
    b) does anybody know how I can get this to work?

I know one of you must

cheers

Mat
  2. Standard memberBigDogg
    Secret RHP coder
    on the payroll
    Moves
    17 Sep '05 20:28
    Originally posted by Mat Kelley
    Now I realise this is not either a poser or a puzzle, well it is to me, but I am trying to do something in excel and I was rather hoping that one of you might know how to do it. So here is the problem:

I have a line running at 76 degrees If you take a single point on either side I want to know on which side it is - I have to use excel for this.

Let ...[text shortened]... !😀
    b) does anybody know how I can get this to work?

I know one of you must

cheers

Mat
    Why not compare the angles directly? If P3>76, then it's one side and if P3<76 it's on the other. Assuming your line is infinite, you could use =IF(AND((76+180)>A1,A1>76),1,-1)

If your angle at P3 ever goes beyond 360, simply
    =MOD(A1,360)
    reduces it to an equivalent <360.
  3. all at sea
    Moves
    17 Sep '05 21:29
    Originally posted by BigDoggProblem
    Why not compare the angles directly? If P3>76, then it's one side and if P3<76 it's on the other. Assuming your line is infinite, you could use =IF(AND((76+180)>A1,A1>76),1,-1)