Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Posers and Puzzles

Posers and Puzzles

  1. 09 Feb '11 13:05
    To get out of check you can:

    Take the piece giving check.
    Block the check.
    Move the King.

    There are three other ways you can do it.

    Two have appeared on here.
    One very frequently.
    One will never be seen on here.
  2. Subscriber sonhouse
    Fast and Curious
    09 Feb '11 14:32
    Originally posted by greenpawn34
    To get out of check you can:

    Take the piece giving check.
    Block the check.
    Move the King.

    There are three other ways you can do it.

    Two have appeared on here.
    One very frequently.
    One will never be seen on here.
    Knock over the board.

    Resign.

    Die?
  3. Standard member Igloo
    Fishing
    09 Feb '11 15:05
    Originally posted by greenpawn34
    To get out of check you can:

    Take the piece giving check.
    Block the check.
    Move the King.

    There are three other ways you can do it.

    Two have appeared on here.
    One very frequently.
    One will never be seen on here.
    Have your opponent disqualified.
  4. 09 Feb '11 19:54
    How about claiming a draw by threefold repetition?
  5. 09 Feb '11 20:58
    That's one.

    The last check repeats the postion 3 times.
    You stop the check by claiming the draw thus ending the game.
    {That is common one on RHP)

    If you opponent gets disqualified, banned, then you have not
    got out of check. The Mods got you out check.

    Two to get.
    (One will never be seen on RHP, the other can but is quite rare.)
  6. 09 Feb '11 21:16 / 1 edit
    Following the same idea, another could be claiming a draw after the 50th consecutive move without pawn movement or a piece capture. I suppose you could also add claiming a draw on insufficient material so maybe all the draw options should just be condensed into one?
  7. 09 Feb '11 22:05
    Originally posted by greenpawn34
    That's one.

    The last check repeats the postion 3 times.
    You stop the check by claiming the draw thus ending the game.
    {That is common one on RHP)

    If you opponent gets disqualified, banned, then you have not
    got out of check. The Mods got you out check.

    Two to get.
    (One will never be seen on RHP, the other can but is quite rare.)
    im guessing tat since you are saying that something that "something" will nvr be seen on RHP, it is either based on the board, the computer technology, or a mistake made. (the computer will not make a mistake if it is check or not, but a player might...)
    are any of my guesses even close?
  8. Standard member SwissGambit
    Caninus Interruptus
    10 Feb '11 00:45 / 3 edits
    Originally posted by greenpawn34
    That's one.

    The last check repeats the postion 3 times.
    You stop the check by claiming the draw thus ending the game.
    {That is common one on RHP)

    If you opponent gets disqualified, banned, then you have not
    got out of check. The Mods got you out check.

    Two to get.
    (One will never be seen on RHP, the other can but is quite rare.)
    In an OTB game, claim a win on time when your opponent's last move is check, but his flag has fallen.

    In an OTB game, claim that the opponent touched a different piece first, and must withdraw the checking move.
  9. 10 Feb '11 13:10
    those sound right...
  10. 10 Feb '11 21:46
    Originally posted by greenpawn34
    There are three other ways you can do it.

    One will never be seen on here.
    Kill your opponent (poosibly by using the board as a Blunt Instrument). Has been known to happen.

    Actually, that's theoretically possible even here, although I doubt it will.

    Richard
  11. 10 Feb '11 23:07
    SG got the OTB one. Check and then flags falls in an OTB game.

    (Never considered the illegal move...it's illegal so does not count).

    Check on the 50th move after no pawn move or capture is the other.

    Shallow Blue.
    You must not kill your opponent if he puts you check.
    It's all part of the game. Get him back by putting him check, twice.
  12. 11 Feb '11 13:00
    ok so how many ways have we got?
  13. 11 Feb '11 21:22 / 3 edits
    Originally posted by Banana King
    ok so how many ways have we got?
    Hard to say. I think you could make a case that there are now 7. Greenpawn rejected the second proposed case by SwissGambit, but I think one could still make a case for that one. Even if the check is delivered through a violation of the touch-move rule, my understanding is that this check still legally stands if the player in check does not claim the violation before his next move. So to dismiss the case on the grounds that it is an illegal move and therefore does not count seems somewhat misleading. (But I am not an expert on the rules, so my understanding may be flawed.) The fact would remain that it still constitutes a means to remove a check that would otherwise stand. However, on the other hand, it does not guarantee that one gets out of check: it seems one could declare the violation and yet could still be in check after the touch-move violation is cleared. This distinguishes this case from the other 6, which all seem to guarantee removal of check or game termination.
  14. 11 Feb '11 23:05 / 1 edit
    We got them all.

    The illegal move is good but too 'iffy' you would not get it played on RHP
    as the system would prevent it.

    True if you don't claim or spot the illegal move OTB then if the game finishes
    it stands. (see below) but if spotted moves later the postion must be re-set
    to where the violation took place and played on from there.

    From an English League game 20 odd years ago.


    Black is in check and played 7...d5.
    White played 8. exd5 ep and Black resigned. The result stood.

    Illegal moves are more common than you would think.
    At the 2011 Gibralter Chess Festival. Zygouris - Zanetti

    Black to play


    Black played 19.....0-0-0.

    Both players missed it was illegal. White went onto win.
  15. 12 Feb '11 12:32
    buut wat are all the ways to get out of check?