Tournaments Forum

Tournaments Forum

  1. Joined
    20 Nov '06
    Moves
    1813
    23 Sep '09 22:031 edit
    Hello,

    I'm involved in a tournament :

    http://www.chessatwork.com/tournament/view.php?tid=5012

    And in the final against passedpawn, one of my games has been adjudicated, despite the fact i didn't claim timeout.
    Is it normal ?

    I have to say that since it is a non-suscribed tournament passedpawn and I do not have the "vacation" feature, so we both agreed one another to not claim timeout during our respective vacations.
    This explain why both our timebanks are at zero.

    Well, I feel the situation not very confortable to win the tournament like this, either it is a bug of the server or a rule we were'nt aware of.

    And, if the first game is tiemouted, why is the second not ?
    Something is weird about this.
  2. Standard memberTraveling Again
    I'm 1/4 Ninja
    Joined
    02 Dec '08
    Moves
    27516
    23 Sep '09 23:05
    Originally posted by zwim
    Hello,

    I'm involved in a tournament :

    http://www.chessatwork.com/tournament/view.php?tid=5012

    And in the final against passedpawn, one of my games has been adjudicated, despite the fact i didn't claim timeout.
    Is it normal ?

    I have to say that since it is a non-suscribed tournament passedpawn and I do not have the "vacation" feature, so we both agr ...[text shortened]... nd, if the first game is tiemouted, why is the second not ?
    Something is weird about this.
    from <help -- tournaments>:
    "Tournament games are unique on RHP because they are subject to automated
    timeouts. Due to the nature of tournaments, they can take a very long time to complete. so to
    accelerate the games an automated timeout is run periodically. This will force a timeout if an
    opponent has decided to not claim the win himself or herself. A 2 day grace period is offered on
    top of the standard timeout period in which the opponent may claim the win."
  3. Joined
    20 Nov '06
    Moves
    1813
    23 Sep '09 23:53
    Well, ok then.

    But it took us 1 year to complete the tournament, and finishing it this way is a little disappointing.

    I admit i do not read of the help files...
  4. Joined
    30 Jun '08
    Moves
    2848
    24 Sep '09 02:26
    Originally posted by zwim
    Well, ok then.

    But it took us 1 year to complete the tournament, and finishing it this way is a little disappointing.

    I admit i do not read of the help files...
    If you really feel bad about this then you could always resign your other game with passedpawn. That round will end in a tie and a new round will begin with a fresh pair of games.
  5. Joined
    20 Nov '06
    Moves
    1813
    24 Sep '09 04:02
    Seems fair.
    I go for it.
  6. The Smoke
    Joined
    24 Feb '08
    Moves
    15854
    24 Sep '09 17:53
    Originally posted by zwim
    Seems fair.
    I go for it.
    that's very noble of you, gotta say...
  7. Joined
    10 Jan '08
    Moves
    11087
    02 Oct '09 21:02
    Originally posted by zwim
    Seems fair.
    I go for it.
    i'm sure sine you're agreeing to that that your opponent would be more than happy to play along with both games until you're left with the original positions in your 2 first games? that would be the fairest of all, waste a bit of time sure but worth it imo.
  8. Joined
    20 Nov '06
    Moves
    1813
    08 Oct '09 01:55
    Well, we have started 2 new games different from those played before.

    I think it would have been boring to carry out the play till the formerly reached position, chess is for having fun with a bit of seriousness, rating is important yes, to know about your strength compared to others, but not such as we have to care only for that.

    What's a little weird in this tournament is how long it takes, i started it 1 year ago below 1500 and have a much higher rating now, so my gameplay is completely different (i play on ICC and was around 1600 a year ago, and am around 1700 now, i play RHP only occasionally).
Back to Top