General Forum

General Forum

  1. In your face
    Joined
    21 Aug '04
    Moves
    55993
    03 Mar '15 22:52
    Well I just want to open up and empty my bowels on it. Since installing Windows 7, I have had nothing but conflicts and issues with it. I seem to remember the same happened when I was on XP but I managed to resolve it somehow. Now I am having the same issues again with it sucking up masses of system resources and then crashing.

    PS No I am not watching pr0n!

    Tried googling it for ages but that much crap out there I cannot find anything intuitive.

    Anyone experienced anything similar and can shed some light?
  2. SubscriberSuzianne
    Misfit Queen
    Isle of Misfit Toys
    Joined
    08 Aug '03
    Moves
    35774
    03 Mar '15 23:03
    Originally posted by Sicilian Sausage
    Well I just want to open up and empty my bowels on it. Since installing Windows 7, I have had nothing but conflicts and issues with it. I seem to remember the same happened when I was on XP but I managed to resolve it somehow. Now I am having the same issues again with it sucking up masses of system resources and then crashing.

    PS No I am not wa ...[text shortened]... cannot find anything intuitive.

    Anyone experienced anything similar and can shed some light?
    Sorry, I've never experienced this. It works like a dream for me and I've never had any problems with it.

    Could it be a conflict with another software like Shockwave or something?
  3. wherever I am needed
    Joined
    13 Dec '12
    Moves
    40201
    03 Mar '15 23:04
    Originally posted by Sicilian Sausage
    Well I just want to open up and empty my bowels on it.

    PS No I am not watching pr0n!
    Thanks for sharing that ~ not a nice image

    AND I/we think you are protesting too much about porn. xhamster, eh?
  4. In your face
    Joined
    21 Aug '04
    Moves
    55993
    03 Mar '15 23:06
    Originally posted by Suzianne
    Sorry, I've never experienced this. It works like a dream for me and I've never had any problems with it.

    Could it be a conflict with another software like Shockwave or something?
    It shows shockwave as being installed as an addon so I disable it. When it do that it complains that Adobe flash isn't installed so I install it and then I am back to where I am started with shockwave showing in the add ons again. Can't fathom it.
  5. SubscriberKewpie
    since 1-Feb-07
    Joined
    20 Jan '09
    Moves
    322270
    04 Mar '15 02:07
    If it's Firefox you're using it with, check out the Mozilla site.
  6. Account suspended
    Joined
    26 Aug '07
    Moves
    38239
    04 Mar '15 08:394 edits
    Originally posted by Sicilian Sausage
    Well I just want to open up and empty my bowels on it. Since installing Windows 7, I have had nothing but conflicts and issues with it. I seem to remember the same happened when I was on XP but I managed to resolve it somehow. Now I am having the same issues again with it sucking up masses of system resources and then crashing.

    PS No I am not wa ...[text shortened]... cannot find anything intuitive.

    Anyone experienced anything similar and can shed some light?
    You should download the latest updates from Adobe if you have not already done so and also the latest versions for your browsers as well any updates for Windows Seven. It all depends on what browser you are using, but you can install different versions which handle flash. chrome for example has a built in flash player, pepperflash, there may be conflicts with it and shockwave.

    To install and use an alternate version of Flash Player:

    Type about:plugins into the address bar at the top of a Chrome browser window.

    Click “Details” at the upper-right corner of the page.

    Find the “Flash” or “Shockwave Flash” listing for the integrated plug-in on the page and click the corresponding “Disable” button. To identify the integrated plug-in, see the table of plug-in filenames above.

    Find the “Flash” or “Shockwave Flash” listing for the system plug-in on the page and click the corresponding “Enable” button. To identify the system plug-in, see the table of plug-in filenames above.

    Close all Chrome windows and restart the browser.

    Chrome uses the installed system plug-in. To confirm the version of Flash Player that is currently running in your browser, see Find Flash Player version (tn_15507).

    https://helpx.adobe.com/flash-player/kb/flash-player-google-chrome.html

    I am a linux user and Adobe has provided no updates for the chromium browser so if I want to use flash I need to use firefox. Personally i don't miss it, its quality is poor and its stability is also suspect as you are experiencing. HTML 5 has been the new standard for over a year which has easy integration of video, why sites like assbook and the BBC insist on using flash I cannot say.

    Hopefully this helps
  7. SubscriberPonderable
    chemist
    Linkenheim
    Joined
    22 Apr '05
    Moves
    526208
    04 Mar '15 18:51
    Therer is life (and internet) without flash 😀
  8. In your face
    Joined
    21 Aug '04
    Moves
    55993
    04 Mar '15 18:57
    Originally posted by robbie carrobie
    You should download the latest updates from Adobe if you have not already done so and also the latest versions for your browsers as well any updates for Windows Seven. It all depends on what browser you are using, but you can install different versions which handle flash. chrome for example has a built in flash player, pepperflash, there may be conf ...[text shortened]... , why sites like assbook and the BBC insist on using flash I cannot say.

    Hopefully this helps
    OKay thanks for the advice. I will have a study of it. I am on FF browser. I'm not a fan of Chrome as I don't likebeing spied on by marketing forces. I never had any problems when I was running linux. Browsing was always very smooth but I never really felt comfortable with it. I used it for about a year. When I tried to update it once, It was taking forever so I paused the update. When I rebooted welll erm. Yes. After that I went back to windows. I can't fault it bar this flash issue.
  9. Account suspended
    Joined
    26 Aug '07
    Moves
    38239
    04 Mar '15 19:223 edits
    Originally posted by Sicilian Sausage
    OKay thanks for the advice. I will have a study of it. I am on FF browser. I'm not a fan of Chrome as I don't likebeing spied on by marketing forces. I never had any problems when I was running linux. Browsing was always very smooth but I never really felt comfortable with it. I used it for about a year. When I tried to update it once, It was taking ...[text shortened]... booted welll erm. Yes. After that I went back to windows. I can't fault it bar this flash issue.
    There is SRware Iron which is essentially the Chrome browser with all the spyware removed. It ironically does not come with flash pre installed though. Comodo dragon is another one based on Chromium, as is Chrome itself, you could also try that. It claims to have enhanced privacy features. I would try Chrome just to test flash because it may be that your version of firefox and flash are having some issues, using Chrome for the time being should tell you either way because its flash is updated automatically and it should have the latest version.

    I could never go back to windows, its just sooo. . . . well you know, closed. Linux has simply got better and better. Ubuntu 14.04 LTS is available I think, although I use a different distribution based on version 12, Ubuntu studio.

    P.S Try epic privacy browser its also based on chromium source code and has inbuilt privacy features.
  10. Account suspended
    Joined
    26 Aug '07
    Moves
    38239
    04 Mar '15 19:22
    Originally posted by Ponderable
    Therer is life (and internet) without flash 😀
    Amen to that brutha Ponderable!
  11. In your face
    Joined
    21 Aug '04
    Moves
    55993
    08 Mar '15 11:49
    Well I've updated flash and Firefox and all seems okay over the last two days. thanks for the advice.
  12. Account suspended
    Joined
    26 Aug '07
    Moves
    38239
    08 Mar '15 12:18
    Originally posted by Sicilian Sausage
    Well I've updated flash and Firefox and all seems okay over the last two days. thanks for the advice.
    yeah flash seems to be so dependent on having the latest version, its a total pain, but its awesome that you have it sorted 😀
Back to Top