1. Joined
    24 Jun '13
    Moves
    24 Jun '13 11:42
    Hello there!

I'm a bloody chess amateur but I want to improve my skills so I'm willing to invest time and money in order to do that. So I came down to two options to invest in:

Either CHESS MENTOR from the chess.com website,
    or a CHESS ENGINE like Shredder or Hiarcs (I am a Mac user).

I already use Stockfish as chess engine and I own a couple of books, so I'm tending to the chess mentor but I haven't done my decision yet.

Would love to hear your thoughts on this to help me decide. Thanks a lot in advance.

Cheers!
    DW.
  2. SubscriberKewpie
    since 1-Feb-07
    Australia
    Moves
    24 Jun '13 14:04
    You could always try playing a few games on the site.
  3. SubscriberPonderable
    chemist
    Linkenheim
    Moves
    24 Jun '13 14:06
    Originally posted by deltawhiskey
    Hello there!

I'm a bloody chess amateur but I want to improve my skills so I'm willing to invest time and money in order to do that. So I came down to two options to invest in:

Either CHESS MENTOR from the chess.com website,
    or a CHESS ENGINE like Shredder or Hiarcs (I am a Mac user).

I already use Stockfish as chess engine and I own a couple ...[text shortened]... ve to hear your thoughts on this to help me decide. Thanks a lot in advance.

Cheers!
    DW.
    Probably a mentor is better for the weak player, for a good player it could be difficult to find a good mentor.
  4. Joined
    24 Jun '13
    Moves
    24 Jun '13 14:42
    Originally posted by Ponderable
    Probably a mentor is better for the weak player, for a good player it could be difficult to find a good mentor.
    Thanks for your responses! But I meant the chess mentor learning software which the site offers, not an actual chess player as my mentor 😉 do you know it? it has mostly good reviews
  5. Joined
    09 Nov '12
    Moves
    24 Jun '13 14:51
    Originally posted by deltawhiskey