1. Joined
    10 Nov '12
    Moves
    10 Dec '13 05:03
    Bad film good book...
    Etc. Etc.

Good book, Bad film

I watched the first 20-25 minutes of The Perfect Storm tonight. How utterly diabolical it was. Right from the first moment with the entirely transparent, brazenly emotionally manipulative music, placed in league with appallingly lazy footage of names on memorial marble and a plaque commemorating the founding of the town. Massive Hollywood stars totally fail to convince as working class people, and the hammy acting reaches standards lower than you'd find in the worst film in an obsessive martial arts fan's DVD cupboard. Also, were those accents credible? I'm not an expert in American accents but they didn't sound right to me—I guess they were meant to be Boston or elsewhere in New England, perhaps Maine. A disappointed reviewer on IMDB who happened to be a cameraman pointed out how in virtually every scene half of one or more actors' foreheads were cut off by the top of the screen, and even as I read it I noticed it immediately in the scene that was playing. And the next one. And...after that, I switched it off and deleted it from my PVR.

The book, on the other hand... Well, I haven't actually read it, but I think I will like it. I, er...er, like the idea of it, and it's very well reviewed and hugely popular. And my sister has a copy! Surely that sort of counts? Anyway, after reading the first review on this page I cannot doubt that it's a great read: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/6545608-the-perfect-storm?from_search=true
  2. Joined
    09 Jun '04
    Moves
    10 Dec '13 09:23
    Originally posted by NoEarthlyReason
    Bad film good book...
    Etc. Etc.

[b]Good book, Bad film