Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Help Forum

Help Forum

  1. 28 Oct '02 17:24
    Could someone please confirm if there is a rule concerning
    repeated 'checks' ( the checks do not keep repeating the same
    move ).
    I was once told that after checking your opponent nine times that your
    tenth move had to be a non-checking move.
    I am aware of the 50 move count and the draw after 3 identical moves
    by both players.

    Martin
  2. Donation Rhymester
    and RedHotTed
    28 Oct '02 19:22
    Is it possible to put someone in check nine times without repeating a
    prior checking move? I'd like to see it done.

    Rhymester
  3. 28 Oct '02 19:49
    What I meant was not making identical moves each time or three
    identical moves in succession.
    To explain, I am involved in a game where I am attempting to get my
    pieces in position for mate.
    Obviously a move may be repeated, but most of the time I am
    making 'fresh/new' checking moves.
    I have probably checked my opponent 4/5 times and do not want to
    end up with a draw. ( if there is the 9 check rule ).
    Maybe I didn't explain myself very clearly.
    Are you aware of such a rule or was I mislead by my 'teacher' ?

    Martin
  4. Donation Rhymester
    and RedHotTed
    28 Oct '02 22:05
    I'm pretty sure you've been mislead Martin. In the course of a game
    I've had to chase a king around for ages and have definitley had
    people in check more than nine times... especially when I add the
    checks earlier on in the game.

    Rhymester
  5. 29 Oct '02 03:29
  6. 04 Nov '02 18:46
    There is a draw by *perpetual check*, but it is not enforced the same
    way that the repitition of moves is.

    What I mean is, repeating a position 3 times allows the player to
    claim, and be legally granted, a draw. You cannot draw merely by
    checking an opponent, however many times, unless you reach the 50
    move rule (which I don't believe is enforced on this site). Draw by
    perpetual check works this way: One side checks the opponent and
    creates a position where their repeated checks cannot be stopped by
    the opponent. The opponent realizes this, and concedes to a draw
    rather than continuing ad nauseum.

    The point is, there's no such thing as a 9-check draw *rule*. The
    perpetual check is a device used by (usually, the losing) player to
    *force the opponent to concede to a draw*, NOT an automatic draw
    by the rules of chess.

    Hope this helps.
    Rein
  7. 05 Nov '02 01:20
  8. 28 Oct '02 20:37
    There's no rule regarding repeated checks.
    It's unnecessary because of the 50 moves rule (one can claim draw
    after 50 moves without captures/pawnmoves) and the 3 times same
    position rule (one can claim draw if in the game there has been 3
    times the same position with same player to move! and the same
    posibility's!! (there can be several moves between the positions))
    Draw after 3 identical moves does not exist!

    Otto