Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Help Forum

Help Forum

  1. Donation Rhymester
    and RedHotTed
    26 Oct '02 11:17
    Game 117618 Move 11. Castling allowed even though bishop
    threatened one of the squares in between.

    Rhymester
  2. 26 Oct '02 11:54
    Andrew, I looked up the rules on castling:-
    "A player is allowed to castle only if (a) his King is not in check, (b)
    neither the King nor the relevant rook has moved during the game,
    (c) no pieces seperate the King and the relevant rook, and (d) none
    of the squares over which the King travels is covered by an enemy
    man."
    In your game, castling is permitted because the opponent's bishop
    only covered a square over which your rook travelled and not your King.
    I hope that is clear. I remember Korchnoi in an important game
    asking the arbiter whether he was allowed to castle, because nobody
    had ever told him the rules!
  3. Donation Rhymester
    and RedHotTed
    26 Oct '02 13:38
    Thanks David - you learn something every day! This knowledge could
    have helped me many times in the past!

    Rhymester
  4. 26 Oct '02 14:11
    Glad to be of assistance. I wasn't sure of the rules myself until I
    looked them up ;-)
  5. Standard member Padre
    Combat Wombat
    08 Dec '02 23:49
    Just one query though.. I played a game a while back where the king
    was placed into check and then the check blocked by a pawn. The
    opponent then went on to castle.. I thought that once you have been
    in check you are not permitted to castle.

    Please advise.😳
  6. Donation mwmiller
    RHP Member No.16
    09 Dec '02 00:26
    Originally posted by Padre

    I thought that once you have been
    in check you are not permitted to castle.

    Please advise.😳[/b]
    I've never heard or seen that rule, Padre. The rule for castling only
    states that you cannot be in check when you castle.

    So, In my opinion what you described was a valid move.

    regards,
    Marc
  7. 09 Dec '02 01:24 / 1 edit
    Originally posted by Padre
    Just one query though.. I played a game a while back where the
    king
    was placed into check and then the check blocked by a pawn. The
    opponent then went on to castle.. I thought that once you have been
    in check you are not permitted to castle.

    Please advise.😳
    Steve, if the king has been moved (quite often an action brought
    about by being placed in check) then castling is no longer permitted.
    However, if the king is placed in check, but it doesn't move (so for
    instance the check could be blocked by a pawn) then castling remains
    a valid move to be played on a later move if desired.

    Hope that helped!

    Mark

  8. Donation Rhymester
    and RedHotTed
    09 Dec '02 08:42
    Perhaps there should be a couple of icons (or just text) to indicate
    whether or not castling is still available (King and Queen side and for
    both opponents). In a one on one game it's quite easy to remember
    but dipping in and out of a lot of games makes this kind of thing easy
    to forget. Having to go through the whole game history is a bit of pain
    if this is all you want to know.

    Rhymester
  9. 09 Dec '02 09:00
    Originally posted by Rhymester
    Perhaps there should be a couple of icons (or just text) to indicate
    whether or not castling is still available (King and Queen side and for
    both opponents). In a one on one game it's quite easy to remember
    but dipping in and out of a lot of games makes this kind of thing easy
    to forget. Having to go through the whole game history is a bit of pain
    if this is all you want to know.

    Rhymester
    And maybe a little icon to let you know whether a deep, subtle
    sacrifice will work or not, or when you can mate your oppenent in 7
    moves and a pop up box comes up telling you how to do it? 😉😛😀

    Mark
  10. Standard member Padre
    Combat Wombat
    09 Dec '02 22:12
    Originally posted by T1000
    Steve, if the king has been moved (quite often an action brought
    about by being placed in check) then castling is no longer permitted.
    However, if the king is placed in check, but it doesn't move (so for
    instance the check could be blocked by a pawn) then castling remains
    a valid move to be played on a later move if desired.

    Hope that helped!

    Mark

    Great thanks for the fast response... Two things still concern me
    though.. One is how did you know my name? and Two, my mentor has
    problems with the rules.. which is a dangerous mentor at that.
  11. 09 Dec '02 23:02
    Sleep with one eye open Steve...I'm coming to get you
    MWUHAHAHAA! 😉

  12. Subscriber Chris
    Site Admin
    10 Dec '02 00:25
    Originally posted by Rhymester
    Perhaps there should be a couple of icons (or just text) to indicate
    whether or not castling is still available (King and Queen side and for
    both opponents). In a one on one game it's quite easy to remember
    but dipping in and out of a lot of games makes this kind of thing easy
    to forget. Having to go through the whole game history is a bit of pain
    if this is all you want to know.

    Rhymester
    Good idea. There is a way of finding out at the moment, although it's
    not perfect. If you go to the "Game Details" page you can look at the
    FEN of the position.

    The FEN tells you all about the game, including what castling options
    are available... more details here...

    http://www.redhotpawn.com/help/popuphelp.php?section=faq#7
  13. Donation Rhymester
    and RedHotTed
    10 Dec '02 08:07
    Originally posted by T1000
    And maybe a little icon to let you know whether a deep, subtle
    sacrifice will work or not, or when you can mate your oppenent in 7
    moves and a pop up box comes up telling you how to do it? 😉😛😀

    Mark
    and a flashing 'boxing glove' icon that alerts you to the fact that your
    opponent is well overdue for a good slapping! 😉

    Andrew
  14. 10 Dec '02 08:13
    LOL!!! You know I love you really big guy 😀

    Mark
  15. Standard member Padre
    Combat Wombat
    10 Dec '02 19:14
    Originally posted by T1000
    Sleep with one eye open Steve...I'm coming to get you
    MWUHAHAHAA! 😉

    Spooky.... Hey we need a spooky icon..🙂😀😉😛😕😠😳🙁:'(😞 none of
    these really do the spooky thing for me..