Originally posted by GlitteringFashionWell, it is the en passant rule. As it is stated in the FAQ:
This is going to sound completely trivial but it has actually effected my game!!
My opponent's pawn was on A4 and I moved my pawn to B4..
The opponent managed to TAKE my pawn and end up on B3?!?!?
Originally posted by DoctorDaraI't is always easy to throw accusations of cheating. It's not nice behaviour.
Originally posted by avantguardI've heard of many changes... one was the Queen used to move 4 squares only, and I don't think the option to Castle was always around.
The fascinating thing about en passant (in passing) is it's origin. In something like the 10th Century (anyone correct me here), when it was decided to speed the game up by allowing the pawn to move two squares on the first move, objections were raised that someone who was in the attacking position would lose their previous advantage by the two-square jum ...[text shortened]... y the pawns' new increased mobility. Geez, I think it was the only innovation in chess...Ever!