Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Help Forum

Help Forum

  1. Standard member Toe
    18 Apr '04 21:00 / 2 edits
    As we all know, the drop out rate at RHP is really quite high:
    but the number of meaningful names less so.

    There are an awful lot of accounts with fewer than 5 games
    that have been inactive for a year or more.

    Would it be a nice bit of spring cleaning to remove all these
    accounts, transferring the stored/archived games to a single
    "deleted account" name so the games database is still complete?

    Possibly a lot of work for very little real gain, but the 'best
    names' thread got me thinking, that's all.
  2. Standard member Exy
    Damn fine Clan!
    18 Apr '04 21:07 / 2 edits
    Good housekeeping would suggest that unsubscribed accounts should become archived after 6 month's inaction (that seems quite conservative) and subscribed accounts after 6 months of inaction once their subscription expires.
  3. Standard member Toe
    18 Apr '04 21:32 / 1 edit
    There are many folk onsite who have had / will have breaks for way longer than 6 months so I'd not go that far.

    I'm only aiming at accounts that pollute the namespace but have never really been used.

    Darn: I used a techy software term there: the speak plain english lobby won't be my friend today!

    edit: shame on me for overtyping in my own thread: but another option would be to mark 'dead' accounts with a symbol or the like, and allow any new user typing in that name to 'grab' it (i.e. only activate the tidy-up feature on 'dead' user accounts when somebody actively wants to use that name). Now I've typed far too much in about a trivial wishlist item, so I'm off to bed.
  4. Standard member Exy
    Damn fine Clan!
    18 Apr '04 21:42
    Well as I said if somebody has paid to subscribe then they're account will stay active for the length of their subscription. But after that 6 months of inaction is a fairly long time and I said "archived" (suggesting they could be re-activated) not deleted.