En Passant Rule

Subscriberjimmeronline
Help 23 Jul '18 15:49
  1. Joined
    24 Mar '08
    Moves
    149761
    23 Jul '18 15:49
    Does this apply to the pawns first move or any further moves
  2. Donationmwmiller
    RHP Member No.16
    Joined
    25 Feb '01
    Moves
    60708
    23 Jul '18 16:25
    Originally posted by @jimmer
    Does this apply to the pawns first move or any further moves
    It applies to each pawn at the time it makes a two-square move, if the opponent has a pawn on the correct square in an adjacent file, so that the pawn that advances two squares passes it.

    https://www.playtheimmortalgame.com/help/index.php?help=enpassant
  3. Subscribercoquette
    Already mated
    Omaha, Nebraska, USA
    Joined
    04 Jul '06
    Moves
    893917
    28 Jul '18 15:55
    Originally posted by @jimmer
    Does this apply to the pawns first move or any further moves
    The first pawn moves only.
  4. Joined
    20 Oct '08
    Moves
    63761
    28 Aug '18 18:471 edit
    Hi...my game ID is 12868812...I cannot En passant an opponent's pawn (at move 14)
    and I'm not sure why? His B pawn has moved 2 squares to avoid capture, shouldn't i be able to capture that B pawn with en passant? The game is not letting me and I'm not sure why? Any help would be greatly appreciated!
  5. Subscribervenda
    Dave
    S.Yorks.England
    Joined
    18 Apr '10
    Moves
    59649
    28 Aug '18 21:231 edit
    Originally posted by @caldon65
    Hi...my game ID is 12868812...I cannot En passant an opponent's pawn (at move 14)
    and I'm not sure why? His B pawn has moved 2 squares to avoid capture, shouldn't i be able to capture that B pawn with en passant? The game is not letting me and I'm not sure why? Any help would be greatly appreciated!
    The position is not an en passant situation.For en passant to apply, your pawn would have to be on the 5th rank.As your a pawn was on the 6th rank he could have simply have taken it.The term means "in passing".If your pawn had been on the 5th rank and he had moved the usual 1 square for a pawn it would have been possible for you to capture it.By moving 2 squares,the capture can be avoided by "passing" the attacking pawn.The en passant rule stops this. I hope this helps.
    Basically for en passant to apply you must have a pawn on the 5th rank as white or 4th rank when playing black.Also,the en passant capture must be applied on the following move so in an en passant situation if you choose not to capture immediately the opportunity is lost.
  6. Joined
    20 Oct '08
    Moves
    63761
    28 Aug '18 22:24
    thanks-this clears most of the confusion up...
Back to Top