Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Help Forum

Help Forum

  1. 03 Oct '01 01:52
    I am sometimes able to attack En Passant, and sometimes not. Can
    someone please explain this rule to me. I think I just don't
    understand the rule fully. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks.
  2. Subscriber Chris
    Site Admin
    03 Oct '01 01:56
    There is an explanation of the en passant rule here:

    http://www.redhotpawn.com/static/rules/enpassant.php

    Thanks,
    Chris
  3. 06 Oct '01 19:43
    hello:

    in "en passant", you can only take the first time that they put you in
    the position to do so; i just moved e4, you are f4; if you don't take it
    on the next move, than you lose the " en passant!!" you have to take
    it on the first move after they move thier pawn out. if you snooze, you
    lose, so take it the first time!! that is if it has an advantage!!

    i have actually used the en passant to gain position in a game, and it
    worked...although, i had to remind the person of it with a subtle: " oh
    damn, i forgot about " en passant!!"

    well, enjoy...and have fun; that is what it is about after all!!

    slan...

    imp..