Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Help Forum

Help Forum

  1. 13 Jul '05 17:13
    I got timed out, but only two moves apiece had occured, shouldn't points only be deducted after 3moves?
  2. Standard member Ravello
    The RudeĀ©
    13 Jul '05 17:54
    Originally posted by Serendipity
    I got timed out, but only two moves apiece had occured, shouldn't points only be deducted after 3moves?
    Not if it's a tournament or clan game.
  3. Standard member Bowmann
    Non-Subscriber
    13 Jul '05 17:59
    War is war, loser.
  4. Standard member Wildfire
    Force of Nature
    13 Jul '05 18:05
    Originally posted by Ravello
    Not if it's a tournament or clan game.
    Serendipity's not even a subscriber, so there's no possibility of the game being a clan or tournament game.
  5. 13 Jul '05 20:26
    u should know
  6. Standard member Wildfire
    Force of Nature
    13 Jul '05 20:47
    Originally posted by Serendipity
    u should know
    Are you attempting to insult me?
  7. Standard member Daemon Sin
    I'm A Mighty Pirateā„¢
    13 Jul '05 20:57
    Originally posted by Wildfire
    Are you attempting to insult me?
    You should know!
  8. 13 Jul '05 21:03
    Originally posted by Ravello
    Not if it's a tournament or clan game.
    Clan games and tournament games can't be deleted, and if you time out your opponent during the first moves it will count as a win for you and a loss for your opponent, but it won't affect your rating (at least not in clan games, but I assume it's the same in tournament games).
  9. 13 Jul '05 21:11
    Originally posted by Serendipity
    I got timed out, but only two moves apiece had occured, shouldn't points only be deducted after 3moves?
    I think the game can be deleted or timed-out without affecting the rating until both players have made two moves, but once black has made the second move, a time-out will affect your rating.
  10. 14 Jul '05 01:32 / 1 edit
    Originally posted by Serendipity
    I got timed out, but only two moves apiece had occured, shouldn't points only be deducted after 3moves?
    You're absolutely right according to the rules of this site. This is a grey area which I've asked about before and still haven't received an answer. If you knew that you weren't going to be able to make your 3rd move in time, you should have been able to delete the game before the timeout. This is a cheap win for ivangrice since he knew about the site bug before the game started.
  11. 14 Jul '05 08:47
    Thanks I appreciate the info...so now I know, its two moves and not three to lose your hard won? ratings.

    many thanks