1. Standard memberStrayJay
    I'm like a nerd
    Amsterdam, NL
    Moves
    22 Feb '03 11:51
    A couple of weeks ago I started playing a game against a player with a score similar to mine. It seems this game may end in a draw. Unfortunately, because he plays large numbers of games simultaneously and he makes his moves very irregularly, a lot of his games have timed out, and many of hs opponents have claimed their win. Because of this, his rating has dropped dramatically.

I am wondering how all of this is going to affect my rating. Not because I'm particularly hung up on my rating (although I do value it somewhat :-) but mostly out of curiosity.

My questions are:
    1) does a draw affect one's rating? I've played a draw a couple of times before, but never paid attention to the effect it had on my rating.
    2) how does winning or losing a game affect one's rating? What formulae are used?
    3) I assume that these formulae take into account the ratings of each player: if I beat a player with a (significantly) higher rating, it will increase my score more than when I beat a player with a lower rating. However, this raises the question: what ratings are used for the calculation? The ones at the beginning of the game, or at the end?

Thanks in advance for your response!
  2. Standard memberOmnislash
    Digital Blasphemy
    Omnipresent
    Moves
    22 Feb '03 12:09
    If you look in the "Posers and Puzzles" section under "the ating problem" thread, there is some information there that might help.😉
  3. SubscriberRhymester
    and RedHotTed
    Red Hot Rebel Clan
    Moves
    22 Feb '03 12:13
    Its in the FAQ section:

http://www.redhotpawn.com/help/popuphelp.php?section=faq#8

The only times drawing won't affect your rating is in games against opponents with exactly the same rating as yourself at the end of the game or if the game is unrated.

Drawing with a higher rated player increases your rating.