Is stale mate always a draw?
Original post by
on 11 Dec '01 16:18
30 Nov '01
11 Dec '01 16:18
please check this game out
and tell me whether it is supposed to be a draw or whether casper has
won. It has always been my understanding of chess that if it is stale
mate then it is a draw yet my only option now is to retire as a draw
offer has been rejected!!!!
21 Feb '01
11 Dec '01 16:24
You are right, this is a draw. I will look into why the system as not
recognised it as such as soon as possible.
30 Nov '01
11 Dec '01 16:37
can I poiltely stick my fingers up at my opponent and laugh
histerically because he was so sure he was going to beat me? 🙂
18 Jul '02
28 Jul '02 13:52
I have to disappoint you. That game was not finished because of the
en passant rule
Your opponent moved P h7-h5
So there was one possible move for you: P g5xh6.
RHP was right to continue the game.
I guess you both haven't been aware of that rule.
Back to Top
Log In to Red Hot Pawn
Please enter your email address and password
Sign up or Connect to Play Chess