Repeated checks

Standard memberIan47
Help 13 Sep '16 19:34
  1. Chicago, IL.
    Joined
    09 Jan '16
    Moves
    24652
    13 Sep '16 19:34
    When can a perpetual check end a game? Three or thirty-three?
  2. SubscriberKewpie
    since 1-Feb-07
    Joined
    20 Jan '09
    Moves
    316846
    13 Sep '16 23:32
    In my experience perpetual check results in a third repetition more often than not. If I get one I just click "claim draw" with every move and let the system tell me when it's valid, so I don't really know the answer to your question.
  3. Subscribervenda
    Dave
    S.Yorks.England
    Joined
    18 Apr '10
    Moves
    58856
    15 Sep '16 19:13
    Originally posted by Ian47
    When can a perpetual check end a game? Three or thirty-three?
    I don't know where you get the number 33 from.
    This is from FAQ and I think is a universal rule of the game
    "No piece capture or pawn movement has occurred for over 50 consecutive moves (100 half moves). Therefore the game has not progressed and a draw may be claimed by either player during their next move."
  4. Chicago, IL.
    Joined
    09 Jan '16
    Moves
    24652
    15 Sep '16 23:25
    I got the number thirty-three from 'being facetious'. Thanks for the reply.😀
Back to Top