1. Baltimore, MD
    Joined
    08 Dec '15
    Moves
    1458
    14 Dec '15 19:30
    not sure why I get an 'illegal move' error when I try to castle. I am trying on the king side, move my king 2 to the right, the rook automatically moves around my king as it should, then I submit the move. getting illegal move error. I have not moved my king nor have I been put in check... not right
  2. Donationmwmiller
    RHP Member No.16
    Joined
    25 Feb '01
    Moves
    56848
    14 Dec '15 19:411 edit
    You need to read all of the rules that concern castling.

    Here ----> Help : castling
  3. SubscriberKewpieonline
    since 1-Feb-07
    Joined
    20 Jan '09
    Moves
    316974
    14 Dec '15 20:33
    Especially note that the king cannot move through or into check on its way across the board.
  4. Baltimore, MD
    Joined
    08 Dec '15
    Moves
    1458
    14 Dec '15 20:50
    got it...never knew of the rule about not moving through check...been playing wrong for many years..thanks for the help
  5. Joined
    31 Jan '06
    Moves
    2597
    16 Dec '15 00:17
    Farrington,
    You can ask about rules. And if I am not mistaken, a present day GM or strong player asked about clarification of the rule for castling during an over the board tournament game one time in his life when he went on to win after he found out about the rule and properly castled. Check out the exact rules for castling, you may think you know them, but may not know every castling allowance.
  6. Account suspended
    Joined
    02 Jan '15
    Moves
    10189
    29 Dec '15 10:302 edits
    Originally posted by KingOnPoint
    Farrington,
    You can ask about rules. And if I am not mistaken, a present day GM or strong player asked about clarification of the rule for castling during an over the board tournament game one time in his life when he went on to win after he found out about the rule and properly castled. Check out the exact rules for castling, you may think you know them, but may not know every castling allowance.
    It was GM Victor Korchnoi in a world champion candidate's match against Karpov, no less. Korchnoi wasn't sure if he could castle if his Rook passed through check and asked an arbiter.
    Korchnoi was considered the #2 player in the world at one time and eventually played against Karpov for the world championship.
  7. Standard memberSteve45online
    Garry Kasparov
    liverpool
    Joined
    24 May '12
    Moves
    26720
    29 Dec '15 14:48
    Originally posted by FishHead111
    It was GM Victor Korchnoi in a world champion candidate's match against Karpov, no less. Korchnoi wasn't sure if he could castle if his Rook passed through check and asked an arbiter.
    Korchnoi was considered the #2 player in the world at one time and eventually played against Karpov for the world championship.
    How can a Grandmaster, World Championship Candidate, not be sure of any rule. That is unbelievable.
  8. Account suspended
    Joined
    02 Jan '15
    Moves
    10189
    29 Dec '15 16:191 edit
    Originally posted by Steve45
    How can a Grandmaster, World Championship Candidate, not be sure of any rule. That is unbelievable.
    It happened !
    http://articles.sun-sentinel.com/1995-07-16/entertainment/9507110283_1_rook-anatoly-karpov-castle

    I think stress was the cause, the pressure made him momentarily blow a synapse. Korchnoi had to have known the rules of castling.
Back to Top