Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Help Forum

Help Forum

  1. 16 Aug '05 21:35
    when i try to make what seems like a perfectly valid move (moving the queen forward from g3 to g5, taking a pawn and putting the other player's king in check), the board does not accept it, and highlights the 2 squares in pink...
    this is early in the game, and i am not putting my king in check

    this has happened earlier in the game as well.

    what does it mean when the squares are highlighted in pink? am i violating a rule of chess?

    help would be very much appreciated! thank you!
  2. Standard member XanthosNZ
    Cancerous Bus Crash
    16 Aug '05 21:45
    If you could tell us what move this was on and what move you were attempting to make.

    I'm assuming you mean Game 1350819 as it's the only game you have moved in.
  3. 16 Aug '05 21:53
    That's the correct game. It was 7w, the first time we saw a pink highlighted space, and the game would not allow the queen to move from e1 to g3 (i had to do this in 2 moves in the end).

    The second time we saw a pink square it was at 9w, and I could not move from g3 to g5.

    What, in general, does a pink highlight mean?

  4. 16 Aug '05 21:54
    sorry, just to explain why the previous reply is under a different name from ellabella - my daughter and i are playing on the same computer!
  5. Standard member XanthosNZ
    Cancerous Bus Crash
    16 Aug '05 21:59
    Originally posted by johnny dee
    That's the correct game. It was 7w, the first time we saw a pink highlighted space, and the game would not allow the queen to move from e1 to g3 (i had to do this in 2 moves in the end).

    The second time we saw a pink square it was at 9w, and I could not move from g3 to g5.

    What, in general, does a pink highlight mean?

    A pink square means an invalid move.
    Now before 7w the king is on e1. The king is limited to 1 square in any direction (and cannot put himself into check)(neglecting castling). The white queen is on d1 and cannot reach g3.

    Before 9w the king is again on the starting square. Read notes above.

    You are confusing the king and queen. King starts on e1 and e8 and has the cross on it.
  6. 16 Aug '05 22:12
    oops! how embarrassing, confusing the king and the queen...

    thank you for not taking the p*ss!

    (we're complete noobs...)
  7. Standard member Bowmann
    Non-Subscriber
    16 Aug '05 22:22
    What can I say?
  8. Standard member XanthosNZ
    Cancerous Bus Crash
    16 Aug '05 22:27
    Originally posted by Bowmann
    What can I say?
    Well you could point out that they are lucky it was me who got here first not you. And that I'm sleep-deprived and it was easier to solve their problem than be sarcastic.
  9. 17 Aug '05 00:22
    Well, the king is out in the center of the board now...
  10. Standard member XanthosNZ
    Cancerous Bus Crash
    17 Aug '05 00:34
    Originally posted by Coconut
    Well, the king is out in the center of the board now...
    Quick, trade to an endgame and use your superior king position to win.