Go back
3 x repetition...

3 x repetition...

Only Chess

Vote Up
Vote Down

can someone explain how this works? does the site instantly grant to draw?

Vote Up
Vote Down

once you reach the same possition 3 time you can claim a draw, but only at the time the the repetition is reached. So if you play on you can't claim a draw anymore.

Vote Up
Vote Down

what if your time is about to expire? Does requesting the draw stop the time?

Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by BuzzKiller
what if your time is about to expire? Does requesting the draw stop the time?
of course! Also if your time is expired but your opponent is mated the game will be a draw. And when your out of time but you have unwinnable possition on the board the game will be a draw.

Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by LordOfTheChessboard
of course! Also if your time is expired but your opponent is mated the game will be a draw. And when your out of time but you have unwinnable possition on the board the game will be a draw.
Uhm,if your opponent is mated,it's no draw,you win! πŸ™‚

Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by SirLoseALot
Uhm,if your opponent is mated,it's no draw,you win! πŸ™‚
oh yes πŸ˜› that was it. You win if your opponent is mated but your out of timeπŸ˜€

Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by LordOfTheChessboard
oh yes πŸ˜› that was it. You win if your opponent is mated but your out of timeπŸ˜€
He was asking about the site,and that's how things are done around here.You are talking about OTB,and those rules aren't even uniform,I think.Doesn't it vary from tourney to tourney?

Vote Up
Vote Down

sure but if it is a fide tourney the rules will always be the same............I thinkπŸ˜›

Vote Up
Vote Down

what I was investigating was the way the different chess sites handle the 3x repetition rule.

Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by BuzzKiller
what I was investigating was the way the different chess sites handle the 3x repetition rule.
Here on RHP you can obviously claim a draw. But this is not always the case. I have played blitz chess at zone in the past. And if you have a drawn endgame there ...lets say king vs king, you can't claim a draw!?
So if your opponent is obsessed by winning you will have to keep on playing until your time expires or resign.
I don't play blitz chess anymore for good reasons!πŸ™„

Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by LordOfTheChessboard
Here on RHP you can obviously claim a draw. But this is not always the case. I have played blitz chess at zone in the past. And if you have a drawn endgame there ...lets say king vs king, you can't claim a draw!?
So if your opponent is obsessed by winning you will have to keep on playing until your time expires or resign.
I don't play blitz chess anymore for good reasons!πŸ™„
Well,that's just ridiculous LOL

Vote Up
Vote Down

So then...if you are the player "on move" to cause a 3x repetition...and request a draw...the site acts 'instantly' to draw the game.

The answers I recieved...were they from ACTUAL experience, or an interpretation of the rule?

Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by BuzzKiller
So then...if you are the player "on move" to cause a 3x repetition...and request a draw...the site acts 'instantly' to draw the game.

The answers I recieved...were they from ACTUAL experience, or an interpretation of the rule?
I haven't had to test it myself, but I believe if the claim is legitimate the draw is granted instantly. So as long as you request the draw before your opponent requests the timeout (presuming you're out of time) you're in the clear.

Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by BuzzKiller
So then...if you are the player "on move" to cause a 3x repetition...and request a draw...the site acts 'instantly' to draw the game.

The answers I recieved...were they from ACTUAL experience, or an interpretation of the rule?
I once had a game were the position was repeated trice so I could claim a draw : Game 782001

The game state is:

Game state
Game over
Game drawn
Third repetition of position

Cookies help us deliver our Services. By using our Services or clicking I agree, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn More.