Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Only Chess Forum

Only Chess Forum

  1. Standard member bill718
    Enigma
    24 Apr '14 06:16 / 5 edits
    Could anyone suggest some fiction or non fiction book titles or short stories that deal with chess tournaments or chess experiences similar to the two listed below. I've read biography's on most of the world champions, but like reading about chess lore and tournament drama, there are so few of them (My old, worn out copy of the Queens Gambit is literally falling apart.) Any suggestions would be welcome.

    http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/312443.The_Chess_Companion
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Queen%27s_Gambit_(novel)
  2. 24 Apr '14 20:35
    I have two older books-grandmasters of chess by Harold Schonberg 1973and chess panorama by William Lombardy and david daniels 1975.They both are more about the players lives and personalities with a yypical game or two added in.Being older books the notationis descriptive not algabreic but both have some very interesting stories
  3. 25 Apr '14 14:56 / 2 edits
    Two works of fiction I'd recommend are:
    Chess by Stefan Zweig (also published under the title of The Royal Game),
    and The Defence by Vladimir Nabokov.
  4. Subscriber sundown316online
    The Mighty Messenger
    29 Apr '14 00:25
    Try finding the short story Last Round. Has an old master winning the world title vs. a near-invincible Russian with a Danish Gambit(author uses the moves from a famous Charousek game)
  5. Subscriber moonbus
    Uber-Nerd
    30 Apr '14 11:39
    Originally posted by bill718
    Could anyone suggest some fiction or non fiction book titles or short stories that deal with chess tournaments or chess experiences similar to the two listed below. I've read biography's on most of the world champions, but like reading about chess lore and tournament drama, there are so few of them (My old, worn out copy of the Queens Gambit is literally f ...[text shortened]... /book/show/312443.The_Chess_Companion
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Queen%27s_Gambit_(novel)
    Kurt Vonnegut Jr. wrote a short story "All The Kings Horses" about a deadly chess game. I think it was published in his collection "Welcome to the Monkey House."
  6. Standard member bill718
    Enigma
    30 Apr '14 19:34
    Originally posted by moonbus
    Kurt Vonnegut Jr. wrote a short story "All The Kings Horses" about a deadly chess game. I think it was published in his collection "Welcome to the Monkey House."
    Thank You everyone for the suggestions.
  7. 15 May '14 19:21
    "The Chess Players" by Frances Parkinson Keyes

    The true story of a Confederate spy named Paul Morphy, a chess prodigy who traveled across the country and Europe as a chess player, acting as a Confederate spy in Paris.
  8. 15 May '14 19:24
    Also, The Treasure of Chess Lore, an anthology of articles, stories, and quotations compiled by Fred Reinfeld. It was first published in 1951 (from An Illustrated Dictionary of Chess).

    I think you're gonna love this, though I haven't read it.
  9. 15 May '14 19:27
    I almost forgot. "Lisa, a chess novel" by Jesse Kraai.
  10. 15 May '14 20:09
    And another one: Chess Rumble by G. Neri and Jesse Joshua Watson.

    A story in free verse about a troubled boy who learns to use his mind instead of his fists through the guidance of an unconventional mentor and the game of chess. Illustrations.
  11. Subscriber sundown316online
    The Mighty Messenger
    16 May '14 20:13 / 1 edit
    Soltis wrote a book "The Great Chess Tournaments and Their Stories, it is a pretty good read.