1. Kuala Lumpur
    Moves
    28 Dec '05 13:481 edit
    Hi everyone,

I am a beginner to chess and I have read some beginner books and know some advance basics. I am told that reading tactics would be the next step and just keep doing tactical problems. From Jeremy Silman's recommendation books on Tactics in HTRYC he listed Winning Chess Tactics and The Art of Chess Combination. So which one should I get?

For Winning Chess Tactics, I would have to order it from Amazon.com and it is way more expensive compared to the other because then I would have to pay International Shipping too. I can get The Art of Chess Combination for a very cheap price in the local bookshop not to mention there is a wait of 2 weeks from Amazon for WCT. The question is, is The Art of Chess Combination just as good or is WCT more worth the wait?

I plan to also get 1001 Winning Chess Sacrifices and Combinations after reading a book on tactics as they contain many puzzles and I wish to memorize these positions in my head.

What do you think?
  2. back in business
    Moves
    28 Dec '05 14:14
    Originally posted by stanloh

I plan to also get 1001 Winning Chess Sacrifices and Combinations after reading a book on tactics as they contain many puzzles and I wish to memorize these positions in my head.
    waste of money.

http://www.braillechess.net/epd.pl?%25253F
  3. Kuala Lumpur
    Moves
    28 Dec '05 15:07
    Wow a great site indeed. The thing is, the website doesn't categorize it into its respective categories and the answer doesn't seem to tell what happens next, it just give a one move solution and thats it.

Perhaps the book would be more informative?
  4. back in business
    Moves
    28 Dec '05 16:17
    yeah well of course a good book is much more informative. personally, I like the fact that puzzles arent categorized and can be randomly selected. but best part is using it does not cost anything...
  5. Hinesville, GA
    Moves
    28 Dec '05 19:04
    Hi everyone,