1. Joined
    02 Sep '06
    Moves
    17 Oct '07 11:56
    I just started learning chess about a year ago, played for about 2 months, and then dropped it. I've recently picked it up again and I'm interested in finding some good books. I bought the "Bobby Fischer Teaches Chess" book and it's not bad. It doesn't, however, really go much into starting and developing strategies; mainly it focuses on mating and escaping mate. So, does anyone have any suggestions for reading material to improve my openings? Any advice (even non-book related) would be appreciated.
  2. Joined
    14 Jul '06
    Moves
    17 Oct '07 12:03
    Logical chess: move by move by Irving Chernev is probably the best general purpose all-round book for beginners.
  3. London
    Moves
    17 Oct '07 12:10
    "Discovering Chess Openings" by John Emms
    "Winning Chess Endings" by Yasser Seirawan
    "Winning Chess Tactics" by Yasser Seirawan

"Play Winning Chess" by Yassser Seirawan covers all areas of the game.

With all chess books be prepared to "study" them as opposed to just reading them.

Also, as with learning a language, you'll do well to avoid buying books that are too advanced. It's worth a trip to a stockist if at all possible to take a peek inside before you buy.
  4. Big D
    Moves
    17 Oct '07 13:08
    "The Art of Attack" by Vuckovich. "The Art of the Checkmate," by Renaud and Kahn. "Capablanca's Best Chess Endings," by Chernev. "Tactics of Endgames," by Ban. "Chess Endings: Essential Knowledge," by Averbakh. "The Immortal Games of Capablanca," Reinfeld. "Capablanca's 100 Best Games," by Golombek. "Rubinstein's Chess master pieces: 100 selected games," by Kmoch. "My Best Games of Chess, 1908 - 1937," by Alekhine. "Rook Endings," by Smyslov. "Chess Tactics for Advanced Players," Averbakh.
  5. Joined
    20 Apr '07
    Moves
    17 Oct '07 13:20
    Girls Gone Wild any volume because chess is over rated 🙂