1. Joined
    30 Apr '08
    Moves
    20 May '08 10:331 edit
    New to chess... I am running around to anyone that I can get to play chess with me to get more games under my belt. I even bought a box!
    anyways....
    I was just wondering if playing lower rated opponents can hinder me from improving my game or even make me think/tactics wrong.

also do you think i should put the 5 minute speed chess away because im a newb. obviously im not rated yet but i do love the speed chess! but may i add it tends to make me move to fast during none timed games and not look a few steps ahead

Thanks for your time hope everyone is good. please advise

young grasshopper
  2. Account suspended
    Moves
    20 May '08 12:08
    try to play against players who you have a chance to beat, but will also give you a hard time. playing against lower opposition is not necessarily bad.

if 5 minutes chess is giving bad habits as you say, yes, stop it.
  3. Joined
    28 Sep '07
    Moves
    20 May '08 12:16
    Subscribe and then you can have the best of both worlds.

6 games is very limiting and, by subscribing, you can play whole tournaments dedicated to a single opening and you won't be hesitant to play the 7/7 games or even greater time limits.

I just blast away willy nilly but I'm sure someone who knows what they are talking about will give similar advice.
  4. Account suspended
    Moves
    20 May '08 13:47
    Originally posted by RDM
    Subscribe and then you can have the best of both worlds.

6 games is very limiting and, by subscribing, you can play whole tournaments dedicated to a single opening and you won't be hesitant to play the 7/7 games or even greater time limits.

I just blast away willy nilly but I'm sure someone who knows what they are talking about will give similar advice.