1. Joined
    04 May '04
    Moves
    03 May '11 03:37
    Hello chess pros, I'm a total amateur. I'm trying to get better though, and I love the game. My friend and I just played our way into an unusual situation and we need help determining what to do next.

Here's the situation:

White: King on g2, Queen on h4, Rook on c7, pawns on a4, b4, c5
    Black: King on h6, Rook on f1, bishop on h5, knight on g4, pawns on g6, h7
    Black's turn.

Here is the problem:

Black keeps putting white in check with his knight and rook, white just moves around in circles getting out of check. Black doesn't really have any other moves to make because his king, bishop and pawns appear to be stuck. White can't do anything but constantly move out of check. Is this a draw? If not, then how?

Thanks so much for any free advice. Happy chess playing to all.
  2. Joined
    12 Mar '03
    Moves
    03 May '11 08:29
    Is the game finished and you and your friend are analysing? If not, we are not allowed to comment on a game in process.
  3. Joined
    04 May '04
    Moves
    03 May '11 13:10
    Well, I guess it is finished. Neither of us know what to do, and we both decided it would be best to look for outside help. We aren't really that competitive, but technically, neither of us have called a draw yet. But yes, the game is over.
  4. Joined
    10 Jan '08
    Moves
    03 May '11 13:34
    Originally posted by chckrogers
    Hello chess pros, I'm a total amateur. I'm trying to get better though, and I love the game. My friend and I just played our way into an unusual situation and we need help determining what to do next.

Here's the situation:

Black: King on h6, Rook on f1, bishop on h5, knight on g4 ...[text shortened]... aw? If not, then how?

if the same position comes up in the game 3 times, it's a draw.
  5. SubscriberPaul Leggett
    Chess Librarian
    The Stacks
    Moves
    03 May '11 13:391 edit

Here's the situation: