Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Only Chess Forum

Only Chess Forum

  1. Standard member celticcountry
    Copyright ©2001-2006
    06 Jan '06 23:06
    Can a rook move through check when castling?
  2. 06 Jan '06 23:11 / 1 edit
    if your king is going to be in check when castling no you can not
  3. Standard member celticcountry
    Copyright ©2001-2006
    06 Jan '06 23:27
    Originally posted by Aybss
    if your king is going to be in check when castling no you can not
    ok.

    I thought I read here somewhere that..oh never mind
  4. Standard member Natural Science
    blunderer of pawns
    06 Jan '06 23:30
    Originally posted by celticcountry
    Can a rook move through check when castling?
    When castling queenside, it is possible for your rook to move through a square that is attacked (b2 or b7), but since your king doesn't go across or land on that square, it's perfectly fine.
  5. Standard member XanthosNZ
    Cancerous Bus Crash
    06 Jan '06 23:39
    Originally posted by celticcountry
    Can a rook move through check when castling?
    You cannot castle when it would leave your rook attacked. However, this is because it would mean your king had moved through check.
  6. Standard member Grandmouster
    ChessObsessed
    06 Jan '06 23:44
    a rook can but not the king. I think the king cant pass an attacked square, but the rook can. Did'nt Korchnoi ask this question in a tourney a while back?
  7. Standard member leisurelysloth
    Man of Steel
    07 Jan '06 00:18 / 1 edit
    Originally posted by Grandmouster
    Did'nt Korchnoi ask this question in a tourney a while back?
    I guess he should have learned the rules first and then started playing.
  8. 07 Jan '06 06:03
    O why you gotta be like that. Don't take cheap shots against someone of his calibre.
  9. Standard member Natural Science
    blunderer of pawns
    07 Jan '06 10:36
    Originally posted by RahimK
    O why you gotta be like that. Don't take cheap shots against someone of his calibre.
    I think that was an inside joke directed at Dr. Bowmann.
  10. 07 Jan '06 11:16 / 1 edit
    Originally posted by Grandmouster
    Did'nt Korchnoi ask this question in a tourney a while back?
    Absolutely no chance of there being any truth in that.

    If he did he was joking; or else you are.
  11. 07 Jan '06 18:34
    I recall an one time, some guy asking about that during OTB tournament play. However, i think he was an expert. I'm not to sure what his question was, but it was about the rules and it sounds familiar to this 0-0-0 rule.
  12. Standard member Redmike
    Godless Commie
    09 Jan '06 10:23
    Originally posted by Dr Strangelove
    Absolutely no chance of there being any truth in that.

    If he did he was joking; or else you are.
    This story is absolutely true - the details are in Korchnoi's book 'Chess is my Life'.
  13. Standard member leisurelysloth
    Man of Steel
    09 Jan '06 10:30
    Originally posted by Redmike
    This story is absolutely true - the details are in Korchnoi's book 'Chess is my Life'.
    And in wikipedia (not that it's entirely trustworthy).
  14. Standard member leisurelysloth
    Man of Steel
    09 Jan '06 10:35
    Originally posted by RahimK
    O why you gotta be like that. Don't take cheap shots against someone of his calibre.
    You are entirely correct sir! Please accept my sincere apologies Dr. Bowmann. That comment was completely out of line.