1. Joined
    14 Feb '10
    Moves
    21 Feb '10 08:50
    Hi all,

I am quite new to chess and just learning the basics, I have a cheap chess computer with a very small board and even smaller plastic pieces...
    As I prefer using an actual chess set to a pc screen (though i do enjoy red hot pawn!) could anyone recommend a chess computer with a good sized playing area that allows for a rubbish player, that will hopfully, improve to a decent standard over time...also i prefer wooden pieces....
    I am interested in the connecting to a pc with a real board but do not know anything about this side of things and how you actually get the pc to 'talk' to it....
    Any comments to do with chess computers appreciated.....
    Thanks...
  2. gumtree
    Moves
    21 Feb '10 11:13
    Get yourself a reasonably old (1990s say) chess computer from Tandy/Radio Shack. I have a 1680X that gives a reasonable game without me getting hammered every time. It doesn't come with wooden pieces but I just use a nice wooden set I found in the local market. Total cost £20 for computer and posh wooden bits. My reason for recommending this particular machine is that it will make strangely human errors - it doesn't behave like the Chessmaster personalities, dropping a piece and then playing like a grandmaster. It just seems to miss stuff occasionally. Other Tandy machines are similar, just don't buy the 2200X, it will destroy you on a regular basis. I have one of those and I swear it was programmed by Satan himself.

Apart from my suggestion above, my only other comment would be that you should not go for the strongest computer on the planet. It will beat you every time. Getting beaten by a machine becomes depressing and very boring after a while. Although we learn more from a loss than a win we do need something to keep our interest alive.
  3. Account suspended
    Moves
    21 Feb '10 11:501 edit
    Just get one of these: