Chess improvement after 40?

Chess improvement after 40?

Only Chess

Cookies help us deliver our Services. By using our Services or clicking I agree, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn More.

c

Moves
04 Jun 19

New here ๐Ÿ™‚
On the internet I maintain a chess rating of 1650
Can I expect improvement now that I just turned 40 years old?
I just bought an old book called "The art of chess" by James Mason
It is loaded with endgames and middlegame combinations and an outdated section on openings.
I will spend the rest of the year setting up the positions on my chess set and trying hard to solve and improve but can I expect any results?
It would be my first time studying chess โ˜น๏ธ

E

Moves
04 Jun 19

@chessbeer

I am no expert but perhaps it has to with how good you were when you were younger. How much did you not understand. I am 50 and am much better than I was at 40 but I started playing when I was 38.

c

Moves
04 Jun 19

I started in my early 20's and I was brutal.
I still make blunders on a consistent basis.
Can a 40 year old mind absorb chess to the point of playing at the 1800 level?

E

Moves
04 Jun 19

@chessbeer

Did you have an official rating?

I read 1800 was possible for anyone given enough work and coaching.

c

Moves
04 Jun 19

No just a 1650 average online against opponents ranging from 1500 to 2000.
I spend a couple minutes for each move like a real game.
I don't spend days on a move.
There isn't much chess where I am from and traveling to weekend tournaments to get an official rating is not financially economical.

Cryptic

Behind the scenes

Moves
04 Jun 19

@chessbeer said
New here ๐Ÿ™‚
It is loaded with endgames and middlegame combinations and an outdated section on openings.
I will spend the rest of the year setting up the positions on my chess set and trying hard to solve and improve but can I expect any results?