Good to see some names I remember from when I used to play real-world chess on the ECF forums.
Also this particular gem deserves to be shared. It's in the 'Does anyone know the answer to this?' thread.
"I wonder if members could give their opinions of what would be the correct ruling in this instance. I didn't view this incident but, as captain, was asked to help give a ruling and sort out the commotion. The incident as relayed to me was as follows:-
During a recent match a member of my team pinned his opponents queen to his king with a rook. His opponent then moved his queen (illegally) along a diagonal and announced checkmate. My team member says that he was so surprised and thrown by this that he actually did think that he'd lost, although he says that he did not accept the defeat or shake hands. Instead he picked up the queen to analyse how he'd suddenly lost, moved it back to it's original position, and then realised that it was an illegal move. "You can't do that," he said, "that's an illegal move."
"You're right," his opponent said, "but you accepted it so I still win."
My team member insisted that he did not accept the win, but his opponent stated that he had because he started to analyse the position and move the pieces.
Eventually they agreed a draw, which both I think felt aggrieved about, my player because he would have probably gone on to win, and his opponent because he said that he did win. Who is right, and what should the correct decision have been?"
Then some discussion of the rules, and then:
"The result is immaterial.
Both players should be counselled that playing chess is, on the evidence, probably not the best use of their remaining time on the planet".