Chess Pamplets

Chess Pamplets

Only Chess

Cookies help us deliver our Services. By using our Services or clicking I agree, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn More.

p

Moves
01 Oct 08
1 edit

Where have all the little chess pamplets gone? When I started playing, these little pamplets of gambits and little known variations were very popular. They would be little opening manuals (around 50 pages) with obscure analysis by uncommon authors. I don't think I've seen a new one in quite some time though. Have computers done in with this "home" analysis content? Even if I knew the analysis was unsound, I would still buy them. They always interested me. Maybe, the end of Chess Digest had something to do with their decline. Just so you younger guys know what I'm talking about, I'll name some.

Winning With The Elephant Gambit By Jonathan Rogers
34 pages devoted to a black system with 1. e4 e5 2. Nf3 d5 (and Bd6)
I really enjoyed playing through that pamplet.

Elephant Gambit By Jensen, Purser, & Pape
83 pages devoted to 1. e4 e5 2. Nf3 d5
Generally unsound but fun to play through. Very dangerous for unprepared players over the board.

The Papa Gambit VS The French Defense By NM Mike Papa Jr.
39 big pages devoted to 1. e4 e6 2. b3
Many of the authors own games are included.
Also includes 2. b3 vs Sicilian and Caro-Kann

The Marshall Gambit In The French And Sicilian Defenses
By Kennedy And Sheffield
68 pages 1. e4 e6 2. d4 d5 3. Nc3 c5 and 1. e4 c5 2. Nf3 e6 3. d4 d5

The Winger! Sicilian Wing Gambit By NM Craig Stauffer
31 pages 1. e4 c5 2. b4

Latvian Gambit Made Easy By Grivainis & Elburg
38 page repertoire book on 1. e4 e5 2. Nf3 f5

New Developments In The Latvian Gambit By Grivainis & Elburg
80 pages with new games from LGME above.

Marshall Attack Made Easy By Elburg
42 page repertoire book on The Marshall Gambit in the Ruy Lopez

The Blackmar-Diebert Gambit By NM Charles Diebert
A collection of a master's games with the Blackmar-Diemer.