Chess Rules - moving K into attack by pinned piece?

Chess Rules - moving K into attack by pinned piece?

Only Chess

Cookies help us deliver our Services. By using our Services or clicking I agree, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn More.

W
Pusher of wood

Los Gatos, CA

Joined
03 Mar 11
Moves
5760
06 Mar 12

Thought I had the rules of chess mastered quite some time back, but now I'm wondering:

If I have an opponent's piece pinned on their king, is it legal to move my king into an attack from that piece? It's not really moving into check since that piece cannot capture my king -- they have to remove the pin first.

Is moving my king into an attack by a pinned piece legal?

The Near Genius

Fort Gordon

Joined
24 Jan 11
Moves
13644
06 Mar 12
2 edits

Originally posted by WoodPush
Thought I had the rules of chess mastered quite some time back, but now I'm wondering:

If I have an opponent's piece pinned on their king, is it legal to move my king into an attack from that piece? It's not really moving into check since that piece cannot capture my king -- they have to remove the pin first.

Is moving my king into an attack by a pinned piece legal?
It is a legal move as long as you are not moving into check or through check,
as may happen in castling.

P.S. If the game is one you are playing on RHP. You will not be able to make
an illegal move. So if you want to make that move go ahead and try it.

W

Joined
21 Jan 12
Moves
3516
06 Mar 12

Originally posted by WoodPush
Thought I had the rules of chess mastered quite some time back, but now I'm wondering:

If I have an opponent's piece pinned on their king, is it legal to move my king into an attack from that piece? It's not really moving into check since that piece cannot capture my king -- they have to remove the pin first.

Is moving my king into an attack by a pinned piece legal?
No!

Reasoning: if he captures,though his piece is pinned to his king,your king would die first so you lose.

m

In attack

Joined
02 Mar 06
Moves
30151
06 Mar 12

Originally posted by WoodPush
Thought I had the rules of chess mastered quite some time back, but now I'm wondering:

If I have an opponent's piece pinned on their king, is it legal to move my king into an attack from that piece? It's not really moving into check since that piece cannot capture my king -- they have to remove the pin first.

Is moving my king into an attack by a pinned piece legal?
The post above is right, you can't move your king into check regardless of the situation the checking piece is in.