Originally posted by greenpawn34SOLV'D.
Right. Never mind having Knight on f7. This looks better.
Blacks last move was a5-a4 we take that back and rather clumsily do this.
[pgn]
[FEN "Bb2kb2/bKp1p1p1/1pP1P1P1/pP6/6P1/P7/8/8 w - - 0 1"]
1. Ka6 Kd8 2. Bb7 Ke8 3. Bc8 Kd8 4. Kb7 Ke8 5. Ka8 Kd8 6. Ba6 Ke8 7. Bb7
Kd8 8. Bc8 Ke8 9. Bd7+ Kd8 10. Be8 Kc8 11. Bf7 Kd8 12. Bg8 Ke8 13. Kb7 Kd8
14. g5 Ke8 15. Kc8 a4 16. Bf7 {mate}[/pgn]
It's very clumsy, to be sure, but (explaining this for the rest of the audience) the last move has to be ...a5-a4 because if it was ...Ke8(x)d8 the position would have been dead before the diagram, and no further moves would have been permitted.
Originally posted by WanderingKingAhh, I can see how the stipulation might be confusing. The diagram position is indeed dead, because the checkmate posted by greenpawn34 does not work without the tempo move ...a5-a4.
Sorry -- I really don't get this. So the first clue is that we have to check if the position on the diagram is dead or alive. If it's dead though then it's the end of the game. But it's "white to move", so it's not the end of the game. So the position is alive.
Should I be worrying about this or is it not important?
The stipulation 'white to move' only means that black has made the last move. It doesn't necessarily mean that white can move.
Originally posted by greenpawn34A. Buchanan
Yahoo!
Of course it can be tidied up (by quite a bit I would imagine).
What you got was me with the final mating pattern in mind shuggling
about on Chesspad till I got it.
Do another....this time with a clear explanation. 😉
Dead Reckoning
Who moved last?
"Dead Reckoning" means that the FIDE rule of dead positions will be applied, as in the previous problem.
Originally posted by SwissGambitSo I take my chance for an embarrasing post: (and I am still counting down edits)
A. Buchanan
[fen]k7/8/2K5/8/8/8/8/8[/fen]
Dead Reckoning
Who moved last?
"Dead Reckoning" means that the FIDE rule of dead positions will be applied, as in the previous problem.
Black can't have taken one of the heavy pieces, since he would have been in check previously by them.
Same is true for the pawn which would have been promoted. (Last edit I promise) and of course the black King would have stood at the place of the theoretical pawn if not in check (ridicoulous but I want to be complete 😉 )
The last move can't have taken a bishop or a Knight (since the position would have been dead then)
So white took blacks' last figure.
Originally posted by wolfgang59Playing forward, once a dead position [no possible checkmate] is reached, there can be no further moves. The game is drawn.
Well obviously that wouldn't be the answer - but why not?
I don't understand the constraints!
A bit more explanation please.
This is all you need to solve it.