Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Only Chess Forum

Only Chess Forum

1. 10 Oct '08 03:52
    Is it completely dead now?

Here are multiple ways of writing the same move.

1. e4
    2. e2-e4
    3. P-K4
    4. Pawn to King 4th Square (Yes, I've actually seen this in older books.)

Is 1 the only one accepted nowadays?
  2. 10 Oct '08 03:53
    You forgot one way.

King's pawn to King 4.
  3. 10 Oct '08 04:12
    It's probably because I'm relatively new to chess and it's the way I learned, but everything except "1. e4" seems redundant, unnecessarily long, and potentially confusing to me.
  4. 10 Oct '08 06:22
    I prefer descriptive notation and still think in terms of descriptive notation. I learned notation from my first chess book which gave explanations of both the descriptive and algebraic forms. I came away with the feeling that algebraic notation was a way of dumbing it down. That it was for people who couldn't comprehend which file was the King's file so they had to put numbers and letters on the board for them. Now I know that algebraic notation is better because it's simpler and more accurate but when I sit down in front of a chess board I don't see the e file, I see the King's file. Plus it just sounds cooler. Pawn to King four is way better than just saying e4.
  5. 10 Oct '08 12:50
    I have a couple of older books which I learned descriptive in order to read, but I much prefer algebraic.

Capablanca's Best Chess endings by Chernev
    Alekhines best games of chess 1938-45
    How Good is your Chess byt Barden
    Logical Chess Move by Move
  6. 10 Oct '08 13:11
    Originally posted by zebano
    I have a couple of older books which I learned descriptive in order to read, but I much prefer algebraic.

I have 3 of those. Great Books !!!
  7. 10 Oct '08 17:49