Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Only Chess Forum

Only Chess Forum

  1. 11 Oct '11 16:13
    Sorry, I haven't kept the game details to show this graphically.

    In a game of blitz recently, I put my opponent in check with a double pawn move. He could've taken the pawn en passant but the game ended there as checkmate. Is this correct or is it a glitch on the blitz site?
  2. 11 Oct '11 16:31
    glitch or wrong interpretation of the en passant rule.
  3. Standard member ChessPraxis
    Cowboy From Hell
    12 Oct '11 00:09 / 1 edit
    This is a long shot, but was the pawn that could have taken the other pawn en passant, pinned to the king by any chance?
  4. Subscriber Marinkatomb
    wotagr8game
    12 Oct '11 03:48
    Originally posted by ChessPraxis
    This is a long shot, but was the pawn that could have taken the other pawn en passant, pinned to the king by any chance?
    Ha, that would be an interesting blog for Greenpawn! I have a feeling that there might have been some discussion about an en passant glitch some years back. Wouldn't know where to start looking for it though..
  5. Standard member SwissGambit
    Caninus Interruptus
    12 Oct '11 04:24
    Originally posted by ChessPraxis
    This is a long shot, but was the pawn that could have taken the other pawn en passant, pinned to the king by any chance?
  6. Standard member ChessPraxis
    Cowboy From Hell
    12 Oct '11 04:28
    Originally posted by SwissGambit
    [pgn]
    [Event "Edited game"]
    [Site "VINCENT"]
    [Date "2011.10.11"]
    [Round "-"]
    [White "-"]
    [Black "-"]
    [Result "1-0"]
    [FEN "8/8/7p/5K1k/7p/8/6P1/7R w - - 0 1"]
    [SetUp "1"]

    {--------------
    . . . . . . . .
    . . . . . . . .
    . . . . . . . p
    . . . . . K . k
    . . . . . . . p
    . . . . . . . .
    . . . . . . P .
    . . . . . . . R
    white to play
    --------------}
    1. g4#
    {White mates} 1-0
    [/pgn]
    Of course, I envisioned a much more complicated position.... yeah...



  7. 12 Oct '11 06:56
    Originally posted by ChessPraxis
    This is a long shot, but was the pawn that could have taken the other pawn en passant, pinned to the king by any chance?
    No, the only other pieces involved were two knights and another pawn. Sorry, I really should have taken a screen shot
  8. 13 Oct '11 11:12
    There is a bug in blitz (has been discussed in previous threads).
    You cannot e.p. out of check in blitz
  9. Standard member SwissGambit
    Caninus Interruptus
    13 Oct '11 12:01 / 1 edit
    Originally posted by Angry Boy
    No, the only other pieces involved were two knights and another pawn. Sorry, I really should have taken a screen shot