Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Only Chess Forum

Only Chess Forum

  1. 20 Jun '06 18:33
    As a beginner I would be obliged if someone would explain why I was unable to castle (playing white).
  2. Subscriber huckleberryhound
    Devout Agnostic.
    20 Jun '06 18:36
  3. 20 Jun '06 18:37
    Originally posted by Guzzler
    As a beginner I would be obliged if someone would explain why I was unable to castle (playing white).
    You are not allowed to castle when your king is in check.
  4. 20 Jun '06 18:38
    Thank you
  5. 20 Jun '06 18:40
    You can't castle if:

    1) You are in check.
    2) You have previously moved your king or the rook you want to castle with.
    3) One of the squares your king passes through or ends up on is attacked.

    I believe that the rules have been modified so that you also can't castle with a promoted rook if you promote a pawn on the e-file to a rook, even though you could argue that this rook hasn't moved. This, of course, is an elephant.
  6. Standard member coentje
    Plop!
    20 Jun '06 18:52
    Originally posted by Fat Lady
    I believe that the rules have been modified so that you also can't castle with a promoted rook if you promote a pawn on the e-file to a rook, even though you could argue that this rook hasn't moved. This, of course, is an elephant.[/b]
    Wouldn't that rook be on the other side of the board and make it hard to castle in that way, thus making this addition on the rules a little more than needed
  7. 20 Jun '06 19:28
    Originally posted by coentje
    Wouldn't that rook be on the other side of the board and make it hard to castle in that way, thus making this addition on the rules a little more than needed
    What about White promoting an a- or h-pawn to a black rook and Black castling with it?
  8. Standard member Red Night
    RHP Prophet
    20 Jun '06 20:23
    Originally posted by coentje
    Wouldn't that rook be on the other side of the board and make it hard to castle in that way, thus making this addition on the rules a little more than needed
    Apparently in 1903 or 1904, in a Master's game, one of the players castled using a promoted pawn turned into a rook on e8 and a king on e1.

    The Rook ended up on e2 and the King on e3.

    Because the Rook on e8 and the King on e1 had never moved they were able to castle under the rules as written at the time. This was an unintended consequence of a poorly written rule and the rule was quickly re-written.

    I would love to see the game in question, as it is hard to imagine the situation where it would make sense.
  9. Standard member Red Night
    RHP Prophet
    20 Jun '06 20:26
    Originally posted by Nordlys
    What about White promoting an a- or h-pawn to a black rook and Black castling with it?
    At about the same time, the promotion rule was re-written. Some one promoted their pawn into a Knight of the opposite color. Again, I would love to see the game in question.

    Based on those two games, then yes your castling with a rook that used to be your opponents pawn would be an unintended, but legal, consequence of the old rules.
  10. 21 Jun '06 00:15
    I'm sure I saw a chess problem once where the key move was e8=R and then mate was forced a few moves later by o-o, o-o-o or o-o-o-o! (the last one moving the king two squares towards the rook on e8, i.e. to e3, and the rook moving the other side of the king, i.e. to e2).
  11. Standard member Red Night
    RHP Prophet
    21 Jun '06 01:01
    Originally posted by Fat Lady
    I'm sure I saw a chess problem once where the key move was e8=R and then mate was forced a few moves later by o-o, o-o-o or o-o-o-o! (the last one moving the king two squares towards the rook on e8, i.e. to e3, and the rook moving the other side of the king, i.e. to e2).
    That sounds like the game. Do you remember where you saw it?
  12. Standard member coentje
    Plop!
    21 Jun '06 01:31
    Originally posted by Red Night
    At about the same time, the promotion rule was re-written. Some one promoted their pawn into a Knight of the opposite color. Again, I would love to see the game in question.

    Based on those two games, then yes your castling with a rook that used to be your opponents pawn would be an unintended, but legal, consequence of the old rules.
    I would love to see that game too
  13. Standard member coentje
    Plop!
    21 Jun '06 01:32
    Originally posted by Fat Lady
    I'm sure I saw a chess problem once where the key move was e8=R and then mate was forced a few moves later by o-o, o-o-o or o-o-o-o! (the last one moving the king two squares towards the rook on e8, i.e. to e3, and the rook moving the other side of the king, i.e. to e2).
    I thought i knew all the castling rules, but i see new ones are invented everyday, maybe i should study a little because the 0-0-0-0 is completely unknown to me can we invent another one like 0-0-1-0-0 and include a pawn in castling, lol
  14. 21 Jun '06 13:28
    Originally posted by Nordlys
    What about White promoting an a- or h-pawn to a black rook and Black castling with it?
    Black would be in check though so that wouldn't work.
  15. 21 Jun '06 13:33
    Originally posted by Red Night
    That sounds like the game. Do you remember where you saw it?
    Ok. I've found it. I'll just set up a diagram and tidy up the notes and then I'll post it here.