1. Joined
    31 May '06
    Moves
    20 Jun '06 18:33
    As a beginner I would be obliged if someone would explain why I was unable to castle (playing white).
  2. Standard memberhuckleberryhound
    Devout Agnostic.
    DZ-015
    Moves
    20 Jun '06 18:36
  3. The sky
    Moves
    20 Jun '06 18:37
    Originally posted by Guzzler
    As a beginner I would be obliged if someone would explain why I was unable to castle (playing white).
    You are not allowed to castle when your king is in check.
  4. Joined
    31 May '06
    Moves
    20 Jun '06 18:38
    Thank you
  5. Joined
    21 Feb '06
    Moves
    20 Jun '06 18:40
    You can't castle if:

1) You are in check.
    2) You have previously moved your king or the rook you want to castle with.
    3) One of the squares your king passes through or ends up on is attacked.

I believe that the rules have been modified so that you also can't castle with a promoted rook if you promote a pawn on the e-file to a rook, even though you could argue that this rook hasn't moved. This, of course, is an elephant.
  6. Standard membercoentje
    Plop!
    /dev/null
    Moves
    20 Jun '06 18:52
    Originally posted by Fat Lady
    I believe that the rules have been modified so that you also can't castle with a promoted rook if you promote a pawn on the e-file to a rook, even though you could argue that this rook hasn't moved. This, of course, is an elephant.[/b]
    Wouldn't that rook be on the other side of the board and make it hard to castle in that way, thus making this addition on the rules a little more than needed 😉
  7. The sky
    Moves
    20 Jun '06 19:28
    Originally posted by coentje
    Wouldn't that rook be on the other side of the board and make it hard to castle in that way, thus making this addition on the rules a little more than needed 😉
    What about White promoting an a- or h-pawn to a black rook and Black castling with it? 😉
  8. Standard memberRed Night
    RHP Prophet
    pursuing happiness