1. SubscriberPaul Leggett
    Chess Librarian
    The Stacks
    Moves
    18 Feb '10 20:544 edits
    Hi folks,

This is one of my best OTB games to date. It was round 5, and I had to play for a win for my team (it was a team championship, with 4 man teams, and I was board 1 for mine) to have any chance of winning our class.

I still made some inaccuracies, but I really think playing on the site here is helping my OTB chess. I have added 125 points to my USCF rating after 3 tournaments since I started playing here- from 1685 to 1810 after this tournament. I have been in the mid 1800's twice in separate decades, but life and chess don't always blend well!

I showed the game to some of my friends at the tournament, and one of them (dstarr on the site here) said "Man, you play like Fritz" after seeing the last move. We laughed, and I told him I was going to quote him if I was every accused of using an engine on the site here!

And the way I've been dropping pieces here lately, there's not much danger of that!

[Event "US Amateur Team East"]
    [Site "?"]
    [Date "2010.02.14"]
    [Round "5"]
    [White "Paul Leggett"]
    [Black "Timothy Woodard"]
    [Result "1-0"]
    [ECO "C00"]
    [WhiteElo "1712"]
    [BlackElo "2105"]
    [EventDate "2010.01.16"]
    [SourceDate "2010.01.16"]
    [WhiteTeam "Clermont's Sandbaggers"]
    [BlackTeam "Golden Knights"]

2. Account suspended
    Moves
    18 Feb '10 21:171 edit
    hi Paul when you sacrificed your knight had you calculated the position right up until exf7 and possibly beyond or was it intuitive based on the uncastled King position or some other factor? Very bravely played 🙂
  3. Joined
    26 Jun '06
    Moves
    18 Feb '10 21:34
    nice game. I have to come up with something vs. the KIA, havnt seen it otb ever but I have a feeling it will pop up eventually.
  4. SubscriberPaul Leggett
    Chess Librarian
    The Stacks
    Moves
    18 Feb '10 21:372 edits
    Originally posted by robbie carrobie