1. Joined
    28 Sep '05
    Moves
    20 Nov '06 18:12
    To all those people who were chess players in the glory days, i.e. before computers could wipe the floor with everyone, do you think that chess has lost some of its magic?
    By the time I started playing Deep Blue had been sold for parts and I can't help but feel a little sad that I missed out on the days when a move was beautiful rather than just correct.
  2. Standard memberKrapsparov
    Don't baptise cats!!
    Manchester
    Moves
    20 Nov '06 18:22
    There is no art in a computer though!!
    I don't care if I loose to a computer because it does not mean anything - I can't see the point in playing one.
    I think the magic still exists in the world of human chess, however, computers do not!!!
  3. back in business
    Moves
    20 Nov '06 18:301 edit
    yes. computers are slowly killing the chess. sooner or later there will be a computer which finds a forced win for white on move 1.
  4. Joined
    11 Sep '06
    Moves
    20 Nov '06 19:04
    Originally posted by Jusuh
    yes. computers are slowly killing the chess. sooner or later there will be a computer which finds a forced win for white on move 1.
    I'd be willing to wager heavily against this ever happening. For two reasons, really; one, it would actually have to be able to 'solve' chess (which given the total number of possible positions, will likely never truly be possible - though with pruning it's a somewhat simpler job); and more importantly, because white to move on move 1 is probably a draw. 🙂
  5. Joined
    27 Oct '06
    Moves
    20 Nov '06 19:211 edit
    Yes, eventually you'll be able to get a handheld chess computer that plays 3500+ chess at the checkout aisle of your grocery store. True, people will always chess, but devoting serious study to it will seem as quaint as memorizing log tables.
  6. Stockholm, Sweden
    Moves
    20 Nov '06 19:33