1. Joined
    08 Nov '07
    Moves
    11 Nov '07 02:58
    Hi all, my first post.

I'm a long time, off and on, chess player in need of some suggestions on meeting 1.d4 systems and the English. I'm thinking I might play maybe the Nimzo and Bogo-Indian pair against mainline 1.d4 openings, although the theory is pretty daunting (though I do own a rather good book on the Nimzo). So maybe I'm ok there and could more use some tips on a complimentary approach to less common d4 systems like the London, Colle, and Trompowsky.

Against 1.c4 there's a line where black plays moves like 1... e5, Nc6, Nf6, and the key move Bb4, resembling a reverse colours sicilian. I have no experience with this line, but since I do open 1.e4 I'm comfortable against the sicilian and also play it with black. Anyone know of any thematic games with this line, or if this English variation has a name?
  2. Account suspended
    Moves
    11 Nov '07 03:02
    Originally posted by scandium
    Hi all, my first post.

I'm a long time, off and on, chess player in need of some suggestions on meeting 1.d4 systems and the English. I'm thinking I might play maybe the Nimzo and Bogo-Indian pair against mainline 1.d4 openings, although the theory is pretty daunting (though I do own a rather good book on the Nimzo). So maybe I'm ok there and could more ...[text shortened]... Anyone know of any thematic games with this line, or if this English variation has a name?
    for emergency use against unfamiliar first moves, 1. c6 and 2. d5 never fails. ever. you can take that to the bank. there's a GM (cant remember his name) who wrote a book on how black can play those two moves no matter what white does!
    it does simplify things, as you needn't memorize countless lines in other openings.
  3. Joined
    08 Nov '07
    Moves
    11 Nov '07 03:19
    Originally posted by rubberjaw30