1. Joined
    19 Nov '05
    Moves
    07 Dec '05 07:362 edits
    I started playing Ponderable a few days ago when he was in the mid 1200s, now he is around 1350. Quite a rating improvement by any standard!. If I happen to win my match against him, will my rating be adjusted based on his current rating or his initial rating when starting the game?

Anyway, here's the game: Game 1606212
  2. Fear The Cow
    Moves
    07 Dec '05 07:38
    Originally posted by exigentsky
    I started playing Pondertable a few days ago when he was in the mid 1200s, now he is around 1350. Quite a rating improvement by any standard!. If I happen to win my match against him, will my rating be adjusted based on his current rating or his initial rating when starting the game?

Anyway, here's the game: http://www.redhotpawn.com/gameanalysis/boardhistory.php?gameid=1606212
    http://www.chessatwork.com/help/index.php?help=faq

have a look at how my rating is calculated section
  3. Joined
    19 Nov '05
    Moves
    07 Dec '05 07:50
    Thanks, it answered some questions, but unfortunately, not the one I asked. Will the rating be calculated based on my opponent's rating when I start the game, based on his rating when the game is over or perhaps an average of the two?
  4. Joined
    30 Oct '04
    Moves
    07 Dec '05 08:11
    The rating he/she has when the game is over, unfortunately.
  5. Standard memberwormwood
    If Theres Hell Below
    We're All Gonna Go!
    Moves
    07 Dec '05 12:32
    Originally posted by ilywrin
    ...unfortunately.
    it's only reasonable, because it's more accurate indication of a players statistical strength. not taking into account all the games completed between the start and the end of that last game would create a potentially huge bias.