1. Joined
    31 Oct '05
    Moves
    12 Sep '12 06:56
    How many master games do you guys study in a day?
  2. Joined
    18 Jan '07
    Moves
    12 Sep '12 14:45
    Originally posted by hamworld
    Good Cthulhu, what a wide question! Define "master". Define "study". I play over one or more games from the chess book I happen to be reading almost every day, but does that mean that I'm studying them?
    Some days I pay more attention than others. Some days I disagree with the given analysis and test it (and 99% - but not 100%! - of the time, discover I'm wrong); some days I just play over the games and enjoy the movement of the pieces.
    Some days I sit behind the board and do a dozen at a go. Some days I play one and get bored. Some days I'm elsewhere. I really could not say how many games I do on an "average" day.

But anyway, there's a more important question here. You asked two: how many games do we study, but in the title, you ask how many to study. Well, the latter depends on what you want, but I'd say that for kibitzers like us here on RHP, the answer is: as many as you enjoy doing.

Richard
  3. Standard memberRJHinds
    The Near Genius
    Fort Gordon
    Moves
    12 Sep '12 15:52
    In my condition at my age, I hardly ever study a complete game in a day. My mind is willing, but my brain seems to get too tired before I can get through the game and the next think I know I am waking up from a nap and not in the mood to continue the study. 😏
  4. Joined
    31 Oct '05
    Moves
    12 Sep '12 18:47
    Originally posted by Shallow Blue
    Good Cthulhu, what a wide question! Define "master". Define "study". I play over one or more games from the chess book I happen to be reading almost every day, but does that mean that I'm studying them?